The Official Website of the Alberta Junior Hockey League
Critical Dates

2021/2022 Critical Dates

  • June 1 - Hockey Canada Registration System Opens for 2021/22 Season
  • June 26 - AJHL Annual General Meeting
  • July 23-25 - 2021 AJHL Prospects Showcase
  • August 20 - AJHL Training Camps Open
  • September 17 - AJHL Regular Season Opens
  • September 29 - October 3 - AJHL Trade Freeze
  • September 30 - October 3 - AJHL Showcase
  • November 20 - AJHL Semi Annual Meeting
  • December 10 - January 1 CJHL Trade Freeze
  • December 12 - 18  - World Junior A Challenge @ Cornwall, Ont.
  • December 22 - 28 - AJHL Trade Freeze
  • January 9 - Affiliation deadline
  • January 10 - CJHL Trade Deadline
  • January TBD - CJHL Prospects Game
  • February 26 - End of AJHL Regular Season
  • March 4 - 2022 AJHL Playoffs - Tentative Start Date
  • May 20 - May 29 - National Junior A Championship (NJAC) Centennial Cup @ Estevan, SK  *The AJHL Champion will automatically participate in the 2022 NJAC

2022 AJHL Playoffs

*dates subject to change based on arena availability

Round One
The top seven teams in each division will qualify for the 2022 AJHL Playoffs. The first-place team will receive a bye during the best-of-seven First Round Divisional Playoffs (2 vs. 7, 3 vs. 6, 4 vs. 5).

  1. Friday, March 4
  2. Saturday, March 5
  3. Tuesday, March 8
  4. Wednesday, March 9
  5. Friday, March 11
  6. Sunday, March 13
  7. Tuesday, March 15

Round Two
The first-place team will play the lowest place team remaining in their division and the remaining two teams will play each other team in a best-of-seven series (1 vs. 4 & 2 vs. 3).

  1. Friday, March 18
  2. Saturday, March 19
  3. Tuesday, March 22
  4. Wednesday, March 23
  5. Saturday, March 26
  6. Tuesday, March 29
  7. Friday, April 1

Round Three - League Semi-Finals
The remaining two teams in each division will playoff for the title of Division Champion and advance to the League Final.

  1. Friday, April 8
  2. Saturday, April 9
  3. Tuesday, April 12
  4. Wednesday, April 13
  5. Saturday, April 16
  6. Tuesday, April 19
  7. Friday, April 22

Round Four – League Final
South Division Champion vs. North Division Champion

  1. Friday, April 29
  2. Saturday, April 30
  3. Tuesday , May 3
  4. Wednesday, May 4
  5. Saturday, May 7
  6. Tuesday, May 10
  7. Friday, May 13