9 CJHL Alumni Earn Spots on Canadian World Junior Roster

CALGARY, Alta. ? Hockey Canada announced its roster Friday for the upcoming World Junior Hockey Championship in Edmonton, AB and nine Canadian Junior Hockey League alumni have earned a place on the squad.

Heading that group are the trio of goaltender Devon Levi as well as forwards Dylan Holloway and Alex Newhook.

Levi, last season?s CJHL Most Valuable Player, Top Goaltender and Rookie of the Year, was one of the goaltenders named to the team. He is presently a freshman at Northeastern University and was taken by the Florida Panthers in the 2020 NHL Draft.

Manning the nets for the Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) in 2019-20, Levi had a tremendous season posting a 34-2-1 record with his efforts in goal pacing the entire CCHL in goals-against average, save percentage, victories and shutouts at 1.47, .941, 34 and eight respectively.

Previously on the international stage, Levi backstopped Canada East to a silver medal finish at the 2019 World Junior A Challenge where his stellar play saw him named the event?s MVP.

As for Holloway, the Edmonton Oilers draft choice is currently in his freshman year at the University of Wisconsin where he skates for the Badgers on NCAA Division I scholarship.  The Bragg Creek, Alta., product won a gold medal with Canada at the 2018 Hlinka-Gretzky Cup and represented the country as a member of Team West at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge. 

He provided his CJHL contributions with the Okotoks Oilers (AJHL).

Then there is Newhook, a first-round pick of the Colorado Avalanche in 2019.  The CJHL?s MVP and Top Forward in 2018-19 starred for the Victoria Grizzlies (BCHL) before earning a D-I scholarship to Boston College.

Among those other CJHL alums who earned a berth on the Canadian roster is former Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) stalwart defenceman Jordan Spence.

Canada is scheduled to begin play at the WJHC Boxing Day against Germany.

The following is the list of CJHL alumni named to Canada?s World Junior Championship lineup:

  • Dylan Holloway F Okotoks Oilers AJHL
  • Quinton Byfield F Newmarket Hurricanes OJHL
  • Jamie Drysdale D St. Michael’s Buzzers OJHL
  • Devon Levi G Carleton Place Canadians CCHL
  • Connor McMichael F St. Michael’s Buzzers OJHL
  • Alex Newhook F Victoria Grizzlies BCHL
  • Cole Perfetti F Whitby Fury OJHL
  • Jordan Spence D Summerside Western Capitals MHL
  • Jack Quinn F Kanata Lasers CCHL