Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

AJHL Alumni Recognized by WCHA

Two seniors representing regular season and MacNaughton Cup champion University of North Dakota – forward Matt Frattin and defensemen Chay Genoway – were today (March 10) honored as WCHA Player of the Year and WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year, respectively, to highlight the men’s Western Collegiate Hockey Association individual awards for the 2010-11 season. Frattin and Genoway were also both voted to the All-WCHA First Team.

The league’s other major individual awards went to University of Wisconsin defensemen Justin Schultz as WCHA Defensive Player of the Year, University of Denver forward Jason Zucker as WCHA Rookie of the Year, Frattin as WCHA Scoring Champion, North Dakota netminder Aaron Dell as WCHA Goaltending Champion, and to Dean Blais of the University of Nebraska Omaha as WCHA Coach of the Year.

Read More