Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

AJHL Announces 2012 Playoff Series: Oil Barons vs. Storm

The Alberta Junior Hockey League announced today the schedule for the 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoff Series between the Fort McMurray Oil Barons and the Grande Prairie Storm. The Round One series will begin in Fort McMurray, AB on Saturday, February 25th with Game One of the best-of-five series. All Round One series in the North Division are now confirmed.

The top seven teams in each division qualify for the 2012 AJHL Playoffs. The first place team in each division will receive a bye during the First Round Divisional Playoffs. All series in Round One are best-of-five with the highest ranked seed awarded home ice advantage. The teams will playoff as follows: 2nd versus 7th place, 3rd versus 6th place, and 4th versus 5th place.

Fort McMurray Oil Barons (2) vs. Grande Prairie Storm (7)

  • Game 1 February 25, 2012 Fort McMurray 8:00 PM
  • Game 2 February 26, 2012 Fort McMurray 8:00 PM
  • Game 3 February 28, 2012 Grande Prairie 7:30 PM
  • *Game 4 February 29, 2012 Grande Prairie 7:30 PM
  • *Game 5 March 3, 2012 Fort McMurray 8:00 PM

* if necessary

The Fort McMurray Oil Barons will complete the regular season in 2nd place in the North Division and 3rd overall. The Grande Prairie Storm will take the 7th and final playoff spot in the AJHL North Division. The Oil Barons swept the regular season series versus the Storm with a record of 6-0. Head to head statistics for all games between the Oil Barons and Storm are available on the AJHL website.

The opening round of the 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will commence on February 23rd. The schedule for all remaining series will be announced as playoff match-ups are confirmed. The 2012 AJHL Playoff Schedule is available on the AJHL website. The 2011-2012 AJHL Regular Season concludes on Sunday, February 19th, 2012.

Each division will playoff to determine a divisional champion at the conclusion of Round Three in the 2012 AJHL Playoffs. The North Division Champion and the South Division Champion will then compete in the League Final for the 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup.

Watch each game of the 2012 AJHL Playoffs live on AJHL Pay Per View at