The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, is proud to announce the 2022-2023 League Award Finalists.

Two finalists from each division have been selected by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League through two phases of voting.  The award winner in each of the seven categories will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced at the completion of the AJHL regular season.

The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.

2022-23 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy 

  • Matteo Giampa – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Caleb MacDonald – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Aiden Fink – Brooks Bandits
  • Ty Daneault – Drumheller Dragons 

Top Forward Award

  • Matteo Giampa – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Luigi Benincasa – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Aiden Fink – Brooks Bandits
  • Ty Daneault – Drumheller Dragons 

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy 

  • Nicolas Beaudoin – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Gavin Middendorf – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • Layne Loomer – Blackfalds Bulldogs
  • Hudson Malinoski – Brooks Bandits 

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by Alberta Ford Dealers 

  • Breck McKinley – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Caleb MacDonald -Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Tanner Willick – Blackfalds Bulldogs
  • Sam Court – Brooks Bandits 

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy 

  • Connor Mackenzie – Grande Prairie Storm
  • Erick Roest – Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • Ethan Barwick – Brooks Bandits
  • Freddie Halyk – Camrose Kodiaks

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy 

  • Trey Funk – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Tanner Komzak – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Heath Armstrong – Brooks Bandits
  • Dean Spak – Okotoks Oilers

Coach of the Year 

  • Mario Pouliot – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Shawn Martin – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
  • Tyler Deis – Okotoks Oilers

The winners of the following League Awards and Scholarships will also be announced at the completion of the regular season and throughout the 2023 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs. 

  • Viterra All-League and All-Rookie Team
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team
  • Regular Season ChampionDave Duchak Trophy
  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Goal Scorer
  • Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
  • Stewy Stewart Memorial Award Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
  • AJHL Executive of the Year – Ken Bracko Award
  • Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award – North & South Division Recipient
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
  • Open Circle AJHL Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
  • RBC Community Ambassador Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
  • Dr. Oetker AJHL Greatest Teammate Award Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient