AJHL Announces All-League and All-Rookie Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the 2011-2012 Reebok AJHL All-League Teams and CCM AJHL All-Rookie Teams. The selections for each team were selected by the League General Managers and Coaches.

Reebok South Division All-League Team

  • G Jay Deo Calgary Mustangs
  • D Sam Jardine Camrose Kodiaks
  • D Rhett Holland Okotoks Oilers
  • F Matt Wilkins* Brooks Bandits
  • F Jonathan Turk Okotoks Oilers
  • F Corey Scott Calgary Mustangs

CCM South Division All-Rookie Team

  • G Matt Gibney Camrose Kodiaks
  • D Robert Hamilton* Okotoks Oilers
  • D Ty Hand Drumheller Dragons
  • F Nelson Gadoury Camrose Kodiaks
  • F Anthony Petruzzelli Brooks Bandits
  • F Luke Philp Canmore Eagles

Reebok North Division All-League Team

  • G Tyler Briggs Lloydminster Bobcats
  • D Blake Leask Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • D Brock Maschmeyer Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • F Peter Quenneville* Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • F Kyle Harris Lloydminster Bobcats
  • F Markus Gerbrandt Fort McMurray Oil Barons

CCM North Division All-Rookie Team

  • G Matt Tomkins Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • D Mike Green Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • D Mike Williamson Spruce Grove Saints
  • F Dayton Reinboldt Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • F Matthew Marcinew Lloydminster Bobcats
  • F Tommy Barszcz Bonnyville Pontiacs

* Unanimous Selection

Three AJHL players were unanimous selections to the AJHL All-League and All-Rookie rosters, including Peter Quenneville (North Division All-League Team), Matt Wilkins (South Division All-League Team), and Robert Hamilton (South Division All-Rookie Team).

Tyler Briggs was nominated to the 2010-2011 North Division All-Rookie Team and now holds a spot on the 2011-2012 North Division All-League Team. Sam Jardine was also voted to the 2010-2011 South Division All-Rookie Team and the 2011-2012 South Division All-League Team.

Five players nominated to the 2012 AJHL All-League and All-Rookie Teams were also selected as League Award Winners in the 2011-2012 AJHL Season. The North Division All-League Team includes three Award Winners (Briggs, Leask and Quenneville). Matt Wilkins was a unanimous selection to the South Division All-League Team and was also the 2012 AJHL Scoring Champion and recipient of the Pro Hockey Life Cup. The South Division All-Rookie Team includes AJHL Rookie of the Year Anthony Petruzzelli.

Four members of the North Division All-League Team have already committed to a post-secondary institutions in North America (Leask, Maschmeyer, Quenneville, Gerbrandt). Three selections to the South Division All-League Team have also committed to a post-secondary career (Jardine, Holland, Wilkins) as well as Robert Hamilton of the South Division All Rookie Team.

Two members of the North Division All-League Team and two players from the South Division All-League Team participated in the 2011 World Junior A Challenge. Tyler Briggs, Peter Quenneville, Sam Jardine and Rhett Holland captured a gold medal for Team Canada West at the World Junior A Challenge. Goaltender Matt Tomkins of the North Division All-Rookie Team also had the opportunity to showcase his skills on the National stage as a selection to the 2011 CJHL Top Prospects Game.

Round Two of the 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will begin on March 6th. The South Division Semi-Finals will feature Brooks versus the Calgary Canucks and Okotoks vs. Olds. The North Division Semi-Finals include Spruce Grove vs. Drayton Valley and Fort McMurray vs. Sherwood Park.

The 2012 AJHL Playoff Schedule, Playoff Bracket, and head to head stats for each series are available on the AJHL website www.AJHL.ca. Watch each game of the 2012 AJHL Playoffs live on AJHL Pay Per View at www.AJHL.ca.