AJHL Approves New Ownership in Lloydminster

The Alberta Junior Hockey League has approved the proposed change in ownership of the Lloydminster Bobcats. The Lloydminster Bobcats will be owned and operated by a local incorporated society, the Lloydminster Bobcats Junior A Hockey Team 2011 Inc.

Newly appointed Lloydminster Bobcats Governor, Bryan Morrison, acknowledged the challenges the group has overcome and those that lie ahead. “Now the real work begins,” stated Morrison. “We are passionate about junior hockey, and now that we have approval it is up to us to make it all work in Lloydminster. We need to bring the energy back, reengage the local stars of the past, bring back fans from all generations, have some fun, and make game night a true community event.”

“We received a wakeup call and we answered,” added Lloydminster Bobcats Chairman Robert Heffner. Lloydminster is a passionate hockey community and we will move forward with a community based team, open communication, a structured membership group, and a proactive approach.”

The Alberta Junior Hockey League continues to be one of the premier developmental Leagues in Canada for athletes striving to capitalize on their athletic and academic abilities. Since 1963, the AJHL has fostered the development of athletes who have become Stanley Cup Champions, Ivy League Graduates and community leaders. The Alberta Junior Hockey League and its 16 teams are proud members of the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL).