Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

Bandits take South Final lead with 2-1 win over Oilers

BROOKS, AB (April 2, 2018) – Mitch Benson (Windsor, ON) stole the show with 36 saves on Monday night, as the Brooks Bandits took a 2-games-to-1 series lead over the Okotoks Oilers with a 2-1 win in Game 3 of the AJHL South Final in front of a crowd of 1,688 at the Centennial Regional Arena.

The Bandits were buoyed by the return of star rookie defenceman Brandon Scanlin (Hamilton, ON) to the lineup, after having taken Game 2 of the series with a three-goal comeback in the final minutes in Okotoks.

Brooks opened the scoring 12:19 into the game when Simon Boyko (Mississauga, ON) carried in on a 1-on-3 rush, yet fired a quick shot from the high slot that snuck in blocker side on goalie Riley Morris to put the Bandits up 1-0 for the first time in the series.

Later in the period on a power play, defenceman Nick Blankenburg beat Benson with a slapshot from the left circle, but was denied by the right post of the Brooks net.

Okotoks did break through on a power play in the second, though, when Jacob Bernard-Docker fired a long wrister through a screen to knot the game up at 1-1.

But after another Oiler power play, Nathan Plessis (Salmon Arm, B.C.) exited the penalty box, accepted a long stretch pass from Jakob LaPointe (Leduc, AB), sped into the left circle and fired another wrister past Morris on the blocker side to notch the 2-1 final score and game-winning goal.

Despite being outshot 8-3 in the third period and 37-20 in the game, the Bandits held on for the dramatic Game 3 win.

Game 4 of the series is Tuesday night again at the CRA with Okotoks having a chance to tie, and Brooks having the chance to put the AJHL’s number one regular season team on the brink of elimination. Tickets are available online at