Brayden Morrison Commits To Wisconsin Badgers

Photo Credit – Chad Goddard:

Okotoks, AB ? The Okotoks Oilers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) are proud to announce that 2002 born forward Brayden Morrison (Calgary, Alberta) has committed to the University of Wisconsin Badgers.

Located in Madison, Wisconsin, the Badgers play in the NCAA?s Big Ten Conference under fourth year Head Coach Tony Granto. The Badgers have won 13 Conference Championships, participated in 24 NCAA Tournaments, 12 berths in the Frozen Four and are six-time NCAA Champions, including their most recent win in 2006.

Morrison, 17, in his rookie season with the Oilers, has 19 points (9 goals, 10 assists) in 32 games played. Brayden was also part of the Oilers in the 2018-19 season as an affiliate where he suited up in six regular season games, while playing in three Inter Pipeline Cup playoff games scoring one assist.

In the 2018-19 season, Morrison had 39 points (18 goals, 21 assists) in 34 games played with the Calgary Northwest Flames in the Alberta Midget Hockey League (AMHL), while notching three points (1 goal, 2 assists) in eight playoff games.

Oilers Head Coach / General Manager / Director of Hockey Development Tyler Deis says Morrision?s rookie campaign and hard work leading up to his inaugural season with the Oilers has helped pave the way for his commitment to the Badgers.

?The University of Wisconsin is one of the most prestige schools in all of the NCAA,? he says. ?The Badgers program has some of the top elite players on NHL Central Scouting?s radar and carries a handful of future NHLers, eventually Brayden will join those ranks and become a strong contributor to the Badgers success.?

Morrison was recently selected to the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) Prospects Game to be played on January 14, 2020 in Hamilton, Ontario. Joining former Oilers Dylan Holloway (2019), Quinn Olson (2019, Boston Bruins), Jacob Bernard-Docker (2018, Ottawa Senators), (Ben Sanderson, 2018) and Rhett Gardner (2015, Dallas Stars)

Brayden is the 3rd Oiler in franchise history to join the Badgers along with Dylan Holloway (2019) and current Oiler Brett Moravec.

The Oilers would like to congratulate Brayden and his family on his achievement and thank them for their dedication to our program and the Foothills community both on and off the ice.

Since the puck dropped on the 2019-20 Season, Oilers have five (5) players committed to NCAA Division I Schools.  Morrison is the eighth Oiler on the 2019-20 roster committed to an NCAA Division I Institution along with:

  • Ashton Abel (Boston University)
  • Carson Dyck (Penn State University)
  • Louis Jamernik (University of North Dakota)
  • Dylan James (University of North Dakota)
  • Brett Moravec (University of Wisconsin)
  • Eric Parker (Bowling Green University)
  • Jack Works (University of Denver)