Canalta Hotels Player of the Week & AB Ford Dealers Defensive Player of the Week

The Canalta Hotels AJHL Player of the Week is Ty Readman of the Sherwood Park Crusaders.  Ty scored his first AJHL hat trick and tallied 7 points (4G, 3A) in 3 games during the week of October 17th – 23rd.

The 18 year-old centre was selected as the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game on October 23rd in an 8-5 victory against the Olds Grizzlys, when he recorded 3 goals and his second consecutive 3 point game.  Ty Readman (Edmonton, AB) is among the Top 25 AJHL Scorers with 15 points (6G, 9A). 

Whitecourt Wolverines goaltender Pierce Diamond is the Alberta Ford Dealers AJHL Defensive Player of the Week.  Diamond was 2-0 last week including his second shutout of the 2016-2017 season. 

Pierce Diamond (Edmonton, AB) was awarded as the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game in a victory on October 22nd vs Fort McMurray and again following a win on October 23rd over Drumheller.  The 18 year-old goalie held a .5 GAA and .982 save percentage last week.  Overall, Diamond has a 2.07GAA, third best in the AJHL.

Diamond and the Wolverines are in the top half of a very tight North Division with 23 points (10-4-3).

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to partner with Alberta Ford Dealers to recognize the AJHL Defensive Player of the Week in the 2016-2017 season:

Canalta Hotels AJHL Player of the Week Recipients:
• Ty Readman, Sherwood Park Crusaders: October 17-23, 2016
• Derek Brown, Bonnyville Pontiacs: October 10-16, 2016
• Matt Forchuk, Canmore Eagles: October 3–9, 2016
• Colby Livingstone, Canmore Eagles: September 26-October 1, 2016
• Tanner Younghans, Sherwood Park Crusaders: September 19–25, 2016
• Liam Motley, Camrose Kodiaks: September 16–18, 2016

Alberta Ford Dealers AJHL Defensive Player of the Week:
• Pierce Diamond, Whitecourt Wolverines: October 17-23, 2016
• Curtis Roach, Fort McMurray Oil Barons: October 10-16, 2016
• Arik Weersink, Grande Prairie Storm: October 3–9, 2016
• Patrick Gora, Camrose Kodiaks: September 26-October 1, 2016
• Dennis Cesana, Brooks Bandits: September 19–25, 2016
• Eric Szudor, Fort McMurray Oil Barons: September 16–18, 2016