Collins, Howell Win Awards, AJHL Alumni Named All-Stars

CALGARY – University of Calgary Dinos forward Chris Collins (Okotoks Oilers) was a three-time honouree as Canada West announced its men's hockey honours Tuesday.  Collins earned the conference rookie of the year award, a spot on the first all-star team, and a selection to the all-rookie team. Dinos head coach Mark Howell (Drayton Valley Thunder) was named Canada West coach of the year for the second time in his career.

First-year Arts student Chris Collins of the University of Calgary Dinos is the winner of the University of Alberta Alumni Trophy as the Rookie of the Year.

Collins, a 6-1, 207-pound forward from Calgary, joined the Dinos after a five-year WHL career in Chilliwack and Saskatoon followed by a stint in the Alberta Junior Hockey League with the Okotoks Oilers. His impact with the Dinos was immediate: he scored 14 points in the month of October alone, helping the Dinos jump out to their best start in recent memory. He finished the season as the conference's top goal scorer with 19 in 28 games – fifth-best in the nation – and added 17 assists to finish with 36 points, good enough for second in the Canada West scoring race. He led all freshmen in the conference in scoring by 11 points, and he scored five game-winning goals – tops in Canada West and third-best in CIS.

For his efforts, Collins was honoured as the Canada West-WHL Graduate of the Month for October 2013 and also landed a spot as a First Team conference All Star.

“From day one, Chris Collins has had a significant impact on our team,” said Dinos head coach Mark Howell. “He was a key contributor offensively for us in all situations, he scored some huge goals, and led our conference in goal scoring as a rookie. He was a key reason for our team's success this season.”

For the second time in his CIS career, Dinos bench boss Mark Howell is Canada West Coach of the Year.

Howell, who won the conference and national award in 2011, led the Dinos to their best record since 1997 at 21-4-3, good for second place in the conference. The Dinos have been in the top four nationally all year and were ranked No. 1 in the nation for five weeks during the regular season. The team went through the first 22 games of the season without a regulation loss, two of Howell's players landed on the conference all-star teams, and both Chris Collins and Jacob DeSerres earned WHL Graduate of the Month honours. The season marked just the seventh 20-win season in school history.

“This is a well-deserved honour for Mark and the team,” said University of Calgary Director of Athletics Ron Wuotila. “He has been committed to moving the program forward in every respect since his arrival on campus and his hard work is paying off. The beneficiaries are the young men he leads each day and all of the proud alumni. We look forward to cheering the Dinos on down the stretch.”

AWARDS (*unanimous)

  • Most Valuable Player (Sullivan Trophy nominee as CIS Player of the Year): Derek Hulak, Saskatchewan
  • Dave “Sweeney” Schriner Scoring Trophy: Derek Hulak, Saskatchewan
  • Mervyn “Red” Dutton Trophy (Outstanding defenceman): Jordan Rowley, Alberta
  • University of Alberta Hockey Alumni Trophy (Outstanding Freshman): *Chris Collins, CALGARY
  • UBC Hockey Alumni Trophy (Sportsmanship & Ability): Sean Ringrose, Alberta
  • Dr. Randy Gregg Award (Athletic ability, Academics & Citizenship): Ben Lindemulder, Alberta
  • Coach of the Year: Mark Howell, CALGARY
  • Goaltender of the Year: Jacob DeSerres, CALGARY
  • Adam Kryczka Memorial Trophy (CW only, best team GAA): Kurtis Mucha & Luke Siemens, Alberta
  • Fair Play Trophy (Canada West only, fewest team penalty minutes): Regina (387 minutes)


ALL-STARS (alphabetical by position)
First Team

G  Jacob DeSerres, CALGARY
D   Kodie Curran, CALGARY
D   Jordan Rowley, Alberta
F   Chris Collins, CALGARY
F   Derek Hulak, Saskatchewan
F   Sean Ringrose, Alberta

Second Team
G  Kurtis Mucha, Alberta
D  Jesse Craige, Alberta
D  Neil Manning, UBC
F  Ian Duval, Manitoba
F  Taylor Stefishen, CALGARY
F  Cole Wilson, UBC

G  Luke Siemens, Alberta
D  Drydn Dow, CALGARY
D  Kendall McFaull, Saskatchewan
F  Chris Collins, CALGARY
F  Jamie Crooks, Alberta
F  TJ Foster, Alberta