Conner Jean Commits to the College of the Holy Cross

BROOKS, AB (June 25, 2017) – The Brooks Bandits of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) are proud to announce that 1997-born forward Conner Jean (Oakland, MI) has committed to attend and play for the College of the Holy Cross, beginning in the 2018-19 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) season.

Located in Worcester, Massachusetts, the Crusaders play in the NCAA’s Divison I Atlantic Hockey Conference, under fourth-year head coach David Berard.

Jean, 20, was acquired by the Bandits at the January 10th trade deadline from the Pembroke Lumber Kings of the Central Canada Hockey League (CCHL), making an immediate regular season impact, scoring 24 points (11 goals, 13 assists) in just 22 games.

But it was in the post-season when Jean’s game found a new level. He was the team’s fifth-highest scorer, and the AJHL’s seventh-highest scorer, in the AJHL playoffs with 16 points (6 goals, 10 assists) in only 13 games played.

His torrid scoring pace continued at the 2017 Western Canada Cup, where he led the Bandits in scoring with 9 points (5 goals, 4 assists) in 5 games, including a hat trick in the Bandits’ tournament final win over the Chilliwack Chiefs.

He also scored three goals in six games at the 2017 RBC Cup national championship tournament, ranking third in goal scoring at the event.

“Conner’s impact on our season was immediate,” said Bandits head coach and general manager Ryan Papaioannou. “His ability to mesh with Josh McKechney and Parker Foo was something we looked for all season.

“He became part of one of the best lines in the AJHL due to his work ethic, speed, and ability to finish plays,” Papaioannou added. “We are excited for next season with Conner, continuing to develop his game and getting him ready for his college career at Holy Cross.”

Jean is the thirteenth player from the Bandits’ 2016-17 roster committed to an NCAA Division I institution, the most such commitments in the AJHL, as he joins:
• Cale Makar (University of Massachusetts)
• Josh McKechney (Colgate University)
• Parker Foo (Union College)
• Joe O’Connor (Quinnipiac University)
• Charlie Marchand (Bentley University)
• Ocean Wiesblatt (University of Vermont)
• Orca Wiesblatt (University of Vermont)
• Nick Prkusic (Robert Morris University)
• Oliver Chau (University of Massachusetts)
• Arnaud Vachon (Colgate University)
• Mitch Benson (University of Alaska Fairbanks)
• Dennis Cesana (Michigan State University)