Dalyn Flette Wins RBC Cup MVP and Top Goalie Award

Listen Now to interview with award winner Dalyn Flette…

The 2011 RBC Cup, Canada’s 41st National Junior A Championship, held its awards banquet on Friday night at the Camrose Regional Exhibition. The recipients of all five individual awards were announced at the banquet.

The awards were based on the tournament’s preliminary round, which ran from Saturday to Thursday.

The 2011 RBC Cup award winners are:

  • Most Valuable Player (Roland Mercier Trophy) – Dalyn Flette (Camrose Kodiaks)
  • Top Goaltender – Dalyn Flette (Camrose Kodiaks)
  • Top Forward – Matthew Peca (Pembroke Lumber Kings)
  • Top Defenceman – Adam Thompson (Vernon Vipers)
  • Most Sportsmanlike Player (Tubby Schmalz Trophy) – Dylan Walchuk (Vernon Vipers)

In addition, Hamilton Red Wings (Ontario Junior Hockey League) forward Zach Hyman was presented with the 2011 RBC Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year award. Hamilton’s captain for a second season, Hyman earned a spot on the OJHL’s North-West Conference First All-Star Team after finishing second in league scoring with 102 points in just 43 games, leading all Canadian Junior A players with 2.37 points per game. He was also named the OJHL’s Most Gentlemanly Player, and helped Canada East win a silver medal at the 2010 World Junior A Challenge in Penticton, B.C.

Geoffrey Gieni of the Soo Thunderbirds (Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League) was on hand in Camrose to receive the RBC National Junior A Scholarship. Gieni was chosen from 10 finalists – one from each of the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s member leagues – to receive the $5,000 scholarship.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarships were also handed out at the awards banquet. Established following the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, Alta. and contributed to following successful National Junior A Championships in Weyburn, Sask., Prince George, B.C., and Cornwall, Ont., these $500 scholarships are awarded to one graduating 20-year-old player from each of the five participating teams.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarship winners are:

  • Camrose Kodiaks – Brooks Myers
  • Pembroke Lumber Kings – Tyler Tosunian
  • Portage Terriers – Kyle Turgeon
  • Vernon Vipers – Steve Weinstein
  • Wellington Dukes – Sean Rudy