Doyle Cup Series Resumes in Alberta Tonight

The 2011 Doyle Cup Series will shift to the Grant Fuhr Arena in Spruce Grove, Alberta tonight for Game 4 in the series. The Spruce Grove Saints lead the best-of-seven series against the Vernon Vipers 2-1 and will hold home ice advantage for the remainder of the series.

The Vernon Vipers (BCHL) struck the first blow in the Doyle Cup series with a 3-1 win at home on Friday, April 15th. Goaltender Vincenzo Marozzi led the Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) to victory on Saturday night to even the Doyle Cup series with a 3-2 win. A 5-2 victory in Game 3 in Vernon on Sunday night send the Saints home to Alberta on top of the series.

The Spruce Grove Saints held a home record of 25-2-0-3; the Vernon Vipers were 18-6-2-4 on the road.

For the second straight season, the Vernon Vipers and the Spruce Grove Saints are in a battle for the Doyle Cup and the right to compete for a national title. The Vipers defeated the Saints in Game 7 of the 2010 Doyle Cup and ultimately went on to claim the 2010 RBC Cup.

The Vipers are on a quest to become the first team ever to win three consecutive National Junior A Championships. The Saints also have a chance to make history by capturing the Doyle Cup as it would be the first time in history two Alberta teams compete in the RBC Cup. The Camrose Kodiaks have a guaranteed spot in the 2011 RBC Cup as the host for the National Junior A Championship.

2011 Doyle Cup Schedule

Game 1 April 15, 2011 Spruce Grove 1 @ Vernon 3
Game 2 April 16, 2011 Spruce Grove 3 @ Vernon 2
Game 3 April 17, 2011 Spruce Grove 5 @ Vernon 2
Game 4 April 20, 2011 @ Spruce Grove, AB 7pm
Game 5 April 21, 2011 @ Spruce Grove, AB 7pm
* Game 6 April 23, 2011 @ Spruce Grove, AB 7pm
* Game 7 April 24, 2011 @ Spruce Grove, AB 7pm

* If necessary

The Doyle Cup was donated in 1985 by Pete Doyle, a Penticton businessman and his family, for competition of Junior ‘A’ Hockey Clubs between Alberta and British Columbia. Since the Doyle Cup was introduced, the BCHL has won 17 of 26 championships. Vernon (BCHL) has won the most titles with seven, followed by the Camrose Kodiaks (AJHL) with five.

The 2011 Doyle Cup Champion will qualify for the right to represent the Pacific Region at the RBC Royal Bank Cup National Junior ‘A’ Championship in Camrose, AB from April 30th-May 8th, 2011.

For news, schedule information, real-time statistics and LIVE Pay Per View, visit the Doyle Cup website.