Final Results for the 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup

Fort McMurray, Alberta – The 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup has concluded in Fort McMurray, Alberta.

After round-robin play the championship game was set with the Penticton Vees vs. the Portage Terriers. The 3rd vs. 4th place game saw the host team, the Fort McMurray Oil Barons vs. the Melfort Mustangs. The top 3 teams advance to the 2015 RBC Cup held in Portage, Manitoba.

In the championship game, Connor Chartier scored the game winning goal in overtime to give the Vees a 4-3 win over the Terriers. It was the 2nd time a BCHL team has won the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup, joining the Surrey Eagles who won the inaugural tournament in 2013. Despite the loss, Portage is still a qualifier for the RBC Cup as the host team of the tournament.

In the 3rd vs. 4th place game, the Mustangs rebounded after a loss in round-robin play to the Barons with a 4-2 victory and locked up a berth in the RBC Cup. Eric Sinclair scored the 3rd goal for the Mustangs in the 2nd period, which would eventually be the game winner. Melfort will be returning to the RBC Cup for the first time since 1996.

Here are your final standings at the 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup:

  • 1st Place – Penticton Vees* qualified for RBC Cup
  • 2nd Place – Portage Terriers** qualified for RBC Cup as host team
  • 3rd Place – Melfort Mustangs* qualified for RBC Cup
  • 4th Place – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • 5th Place – Spruce Grove Saints

The 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup saw the champions of the British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL), Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL), and Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) participate in a five-team tournament along with a host team for the Western Canada Cup title.

Fort McMurray is the host city of the 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup with all games taking place at the Casman Centre, the home of the Fort McMurray Oil Barons.