Makar Dominates RBC Cup Awards

LLOYDMINSTER, SK – Brooks Bandits defenceman Cale Makar (Calgary, AB) captured three of the six awards handed out at the annual RBC Cup Awards Banquet on Friday night, being named Top Scorer, Top Defenceman, and Most Valuable Player of the tournament’s round-robin stage.

Makar, 17, scored four goals and three assists for seven points in the round robin stage, the most of any player at the tournament, and is the second Bandit to win the RBC Cup Top Scorer award, after Anthony Paskaruk (Calgary, AB) did the same for Brooks in 2013.

In winning the tournament’s Top Defenceman award, Makar duplicated the same award he captured at the Western Canada Cup in Estevan, Saskatchewan. It’s the first time an Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) defenceman has captured that award since 2007, when Evan Oberg of the Camrose Kodiaks won it.

Finally, Makar had his name etched on the Roland Mercier Trophy as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, the second Bandit to win that award after captain Cam Maclise (Calgary, AB) won it in 2013. Makar is the third player in the history of the RBC Cup since it was renamed in 1996 to win three awards, after Daniel Michalsky of the Aurora Tigers in 2007, and Brad Bowles of the Portage Terriers at last year’s tournament.

The awards are the latest in a banner freshman campaign for the graduate of the Calgary Midget AAA Flames. Makar has already been named the AJHL Rookie of the Year, the CJHL Rookie of the Year, the Bandits Co-Rookie of the Year, a unanimous selection to the AJHL South All-Rookie Team, a member of the AJHL South All-League Team, and won a gold medal earlier this season with Team Canada West at the World Junior A Challenge.

After a 3-1 record in the round robin stage, the Bandits will take on the West Kelowna Warriors in the RBC Cup semi-final on Saturday night at 7:30 PM. The winner of that semi-final will take on the winner of the earlier semi-final between the Lloydminster Bobcats and Trenton Golden Hawks in the RBC Cup Final, on Sunday at 4:00 PM.