Nichols Receives Chair?s Award at 109th Hockey Alberta AGM

RED DEER – Terry Engen and Fran Zinger will return to their positions as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Board of Directors of the Alberta Amateur Hockey Association (Hockey Alberta).

Engen and Zinger were declared elected to their positions for three year terms during the 109th Hockey Alberta Annual General Meeting held at the Sheraton Hotel in Red Deer.

Along with the election of officers, four notices of motion were passed. Included among the approved motions were changing the title Executive Director to Chief Executive Officer, and amending the date for the annual general meeting to require it to be held within six months of the end of fiscal year.

A highlight of the annual general meeting is the presentation, by Terry Engen, of the Chair of the Board Award. The 2016 recipient is Curtis Nichols, who has been a long time on-ice official, supervisor, zone executive member, and is the former chair of the Referee Council.

A number of Operational Committee volunteers were recognized for their years of dedicated service. Sherry Haarstad was recognized for 10 years as a volunteer, while Jamie Salm, Janet Fairless, Sherri Barrett, Connie Anderson and Michelle Malbeuf were recognized for five years of service.

Several long-time volunteers who are not returning for 2016-17 were also recognized, including: Barrett (Zone 5 Minor Administration Coordinator), Craig Decoursey (Referee Committee), Craig Reid (Operations Advisory Committee), and Lil Fulton (Junior/Senior Female Committee).