Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

Okotoks Oilers Lorenz Earns CJHL Top Prospect Honours

Photo Credit – Chad Goddard:

The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) forward Rieger Lorenz has earned its fifth annual John Grisdale Top Prospect Award, for being the first CJHL player taken in the 2022 NHL Draft.

The award, which is named after the CJHL Life Member, saw Lorenz garner the accolades after being selected by the Minnesota Wild in the second round, 56th overall, at the 2022 NHL Draft at the Bell Centre, in Montreal.

The 18-year-old Calgary, Alta., product had a tremendous initial campaign in the Alberta Junior Hockey League, leading all first-year skaters there in offensive production with 85 points, on 38 goals and 47 assists.

His efforts saw him set new Oilers’ rookie marks in both tallies and points.

Lorenz’s totals helped him finish fifth overall in AJHL scoring.

A NCAA Division I commitment to the University of Denver, he will attend school there and compete with the Pioneers men’s hockey program, who will enter the 2022-23 season as defending Frozen Four national champions.

Lorenz was also tabbed the CJHL’s highest rated player in the National Hockey League Central Scouting’s final draft rankings among North American skaters.

The AJHL rookie of the year was named a game star, in league play, on 13 occasions and was selected their player of the month for December.

He also collected league rookie of the week laurels four times.

JOHN GRISDALE AWARD RECIPIENTS (Highest CJHL player selected in NHL Draft)
2022: Rieger Lorens, (F) Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) – 2nd round, 56th overall (Minnesota Wild)
2021: Corson Ceulemans, (D) Brooks Bandits (AJHL) – 1st round, 25th overall (Columbus Blue Jackets)
2020: Michael Benning, (D) Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL) – 4th round, 95th overall (Florida Panthers)
2019: Alex Newhook, (F) Victoria Grizzlies (BCHL) – 1st round, 16th overall (Colorado Avalanche)
2018: Jacob Bernard-Docker, (D) Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) – 1st round, 26th overall (Ottawa Senators)