OKOTOKS, AB – The Okotoks Oilers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) will host the 2025 Centennial Cup, emblematic of Canada’s National Junior A Championship, it was announced today by Hockey Canada and the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL).

The ten-team, 25-game tournament will be hosted by the Town of Okotoks at Okotoks Centennial Arenas from May 8-18, 2025, featuring the champions of nine Junior A leagues as well as the host Oilers competing for a national title.

“We’re honoured and excited to be chosen as the host team for 2025,” said Oilers head coach and general manager Tyler Deis. “We expect to field another extremely competitive team that will be firmly dedicated to capturing a national championship on home ice. We’re grateful for the experience that this will give to our players and staff, and for the confidence being shown in our organization to host another successful event.”

It is the first time the Oilers have hosted a multi-day national hockey event since the team’s inception in 2005. The Town of Okotoks, in partnership with the Oilers, did serve as host to the 2022 Telus and Esso Cups on an emergency basis, successfully executing both events in only a month of planning time.

“The Town of Okotoks is thrilled to host Canada’s National Junior A Hockey Championship,” said Mayor of Okotoks Tanya Thorn. “This is a wonderful opportunity to showcase Okotoks and our commitment to supporting high level sport. We are so proud to bring such an exciting event to this community!”

“Building teams and communities does not happen overnight, and we must thank a group of community minded individuals who had the belief and foresight that a team in Okotoks would be a perfect fit in the Alberta Junior Hockey League,” said Oilers Chairman of the Board Wayne Lauinger. “In 2004, when the opportunity was presented, this group of twenty-eight individuals donated the funding to bring a franchise to Okotoks; from the beginning the foresight was always to host this prestigious event for the people of Okotoks and area.

“Today’s news was made possible through the outstanding work of two individuals: Tyler Deis and Tyler King, both of whom work tirelessly to make the Okotoks Oilers one of the dominant franchises in Canadian Junior Hockey,” he added.

The 2025 event will be the eighth time the tournament has been hosted by the AJHL, following Brooks (2019), Lloydminster (2016); Camrose (2011); Grande Prairie (2004); Fort McMurray (2000); Olds (1994); and Edmonton (1975).

“I’m delighted that our organization has earned the confidence of Hockey Canada, the CJHL, and its partners to continue the terrific legacy of this fantastic event,” said Bid Committee Chair Tyler King. “In Spring of 2022, we demonstrated the incredible capacity of this community to host twelve teams in two simultaneous national championship tournaments, with a flood of volunteer interest and support. This past season, we demonstrated the untapped junior hockey potential of this town in both fan and local corporate support.”

“Over these next two years of planning, we are looking forward to using those strengths to craft an unforgettable tournament that will be memorable for athletes and spectators alike.”

Ticket, sponsorship, and volunteer information for the 2025 Centennial Cup will be available over the coming months as the planning process begins.