Saints Chris Van Os-Shaw Named CJHL?s Top Forward

CALGARY, AB – The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Chris Van Os-Shaw of the Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) has been named the recipient of its Top Forward Award for the 2017-18 season.

Van Os-Shaw earned the honour through voting completed by each of the 10-member Jr. ‘A’ leagues that comprise the CJHL.

He earned the accolades over fellow CJHL Top Forward finalists Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild (BCHL); Dexter Kuczek, Winnipeg Blues (MJHL); Andrew Petrucci, Toronto Patriots (OJHL) and Layne Young, Battlefords North Stars (SJHL).

The 20-year-old Regina, S

?K?, product was the AJHL Scoring Champion this season, claiming the Ernie Love Trophy, by completing the regular season with an impressive 97 points, including 51 goals.

His tally total marked the first time in 12 years that an AJHL player reached the 50-plus goal plateau.?  The last to do so was former Bonnyville Pontiacs standout and current Columbus Blue Jackets forward Mark Letestu back in 2005-2006.

In all, Van Os-Shaw topped his league in goals, points, point-per-game average (1.6) and game-winning goals (8).

He was earlier named the AJHL’s Most Valuable Player and was recognized as one of their Stars of the Game 15 times throughout the regular season while also capturing AJHL Player of the Week honours twice. ?  Among his other laurels, he was selected AJHL Player of the Month Award for January.

Van Os-Shaw has committed to a NCAA Division One scholarship to Minnesota State in Mankato, Minn., where he will attend school and play for the Mavericks program, who are members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.