Saints Hoist Gas Drive Cup in Drumheller

Gas Drive Cup Championship Game #4 Drumheller vs. Spruce Grove (Saints win 4-0)

For the first time since 2011 the Spruce Grove Saints are AJHL (Gas Drive Cup) Champions after they completed a four game sweep of the Drumheller Dragons.

The Saints would win game four 2-1 in overtime.

The Saints would open the scoring as Jarid Hauptman (assists to Corey Chorneyko and Dylan Hollman) tapped the puck behind Dragons’ goaltender Devin Buffalo at 3:33.

Shots favored the Dragons 6-5 in the first period.

The Saints went 0/1 on the power play while Drumheller went 0/3 in the opening period.

The Dragons would tie the game in the second as Trent Ouellette (assists to Dallas Smith and Colton Vannucci) would pounce on a rebound and beat Saints’ goaltender Kenny Cameron at 6:04.

Shots favored the Saints 12-11 in the second period and after two periods the shots were tied at 17-17.

The Saints went 0/5 on the power play in the second and 0/6 in the hockey game.

The Dragons were 0/1 on the power play in the second and 0/4 in the hockey game.

Both teams would have their chances to win the game in regulation, but neither team was able to light the lamp.

Shots favored the Saints 13-4 in the third period and 30-21 after regulation.

The Saints went 0/1 on the power play in the third period and 0/7 after regulation.

The Dragons went 0/1 on the power play in the third period and 0/5 after regulation.

Just 19 seconds into overtime, Jake Mykituk (assists to Hughes and Hunter) got free on a breakaway and buried the shot five hole on Buffalo to win the game and the Gas Drive Cup Championship for the Spruce Grove Saints.

The Saints would get the only shot of overtime and outshot the Dragons 31-21 in the hockey game.

Corey Chorneyko was award the playoff MVP.

Next up for the Saints is a trip to Dauphin, Manitoba for the Western Canada Cup which will start April 26th and run until
May 4th.

Teams that will join the Saints in the Western Canada Cup in Dauphin are:

  • MJHL Turnbull Trophy Champions: Winnipeg Blues
  • SJHL Canalta Cup Champion: Yorkton Terriers or Melville MillionIaires (Yorkton leads series 3-0)
  • BCHL Fred Page Cup Champion: Coquitlam Express
  • Host Team: Dauphin Kings


Story by Chris Colwell