Spruce Grove Saints Repeat as AJHL Gas Drive Cup Champions

The Spruce Grove Saints have won the 2015 AJHL Gas Drive Cup as the Alberta Junior Hockey League Champions.  Spruce Grove defeated the Brooks Bandits 2 – 1 in overtime of Game 6 to win the series tonight in Brooks, Alberta.  League Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk and Gas Drive President Brad Beebe awarded the Gas Drive Cup to Team Captain Parker MacKay and two-time AJHL Coach of the Year Jason McKee.

Spruce Grove Saints Captain, Parker MacKay, was awarded the 2015 Gas Drive AJHL Playoff MVP Award.  MacKay was also the 2015 recipient of the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s Most Dedicated Player Award.  MacKay led the Saints to the top of the AJHL North Division Standings with a dominant season.  MacKay (Irma, Alberta) is a 20 year-old forward and a three year veteran of the Saints.

By securing 1st place in the Viterra AJHL North Division, the Saints guaranteed themselves a first round bye in the 2015 AJHL Gas Drive Playoffs.   They went on to defeat the Sherwood Park Crusaders and Bonnyville Pontiacs to advance to the League Finals.  The Saints have advanced to the League Final six times in the seven last years (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015) and won four times (2010, 2011, 2014, 2015).  In 2013, they were defeated by the Brooks Bandits who went on to capture the 2013 RBC Cup National Championship.

The Spruce Grove Saints were winners of the 2014-2015 Dave Duchak Trophy as the AJHL Regular Season Champions for a second consecutive season with a record of 48-7-5 and 101 points.  The Saints have captured the regular season title in five of the last seven years.  The Saints held a dominant lead in the Viterra AJHL North Division Standings throughout the regular season and were ranked amongst the leaders of the CJHL Top 20 Weekly Rankings consistently. 

The Saints will now advance to the 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup in Fort McMurray, Alberta for a chance to represent the West at the 2015 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship in Portage la Prairie, MB.
Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup
The 2015 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup will be held in Fort McMurray from April 25 – May 3, 2015.   The champions of the British Columbia Hockey League, Alberta Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, and Manitoba Junior Hockey League will compete in a five-team tournament with the host Fort McMurray Oil Barons for the 2015 Western Canada Cup. The Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent western Canada at the RBC Cup National Junior A Championship in in Portage la Prairie, MB.

For more information about the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup, visit www.westerncanadacup.com