T.J. Lloyd Named CJHL?s Top Defenceman for 2018-19

CALGARY, Alta. ? The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Saturday that T.J. Lloyd of the Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) has been named the recipient of the CJHL?s Top Defenceman Award in recognition of his efforts during the course of the 2018-19 regular season.

Lloyd earned the honour over fellow Top Defenceman finalists James Miller (D), Penticton Vees (BCHL); Zack Hoffman (D), Navan Grads (CCHL); Marc-Éric Bourque, (D) Titan de Princeville (LHJAAAQ) and Kyle Auger (D), Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL).

The winner was determined following a balloting and voting process completed by the CJHL?s 10-member leagues.

The 19-year-old Lloydminster, Alta., product captained Spruce Grove this season and went on to earn the 2018-19 W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy as the Alberta Junior Hockey League?s Outstanding Defenceman, which is presented annually to the defensive player who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in that position throughout the season.

Lloyd, who is committed to Bowling Green State University on NCAA Division I scholarship, was rock solid on both ends of the ice for the Saints this season as he registered 45 points on 11 tallies, including three game-winners, and 34 assists in 53 outings while stabilizing his club?s back-end that allowed the second-fewest goals against in the AJHL at 141.

In three full seasons in Spruce Grove, Lloyd has skated in 163 career contests while producing 18 markers and helping set-up 69 others for 87 points.

He also represented the AJHL as a member on the Team Canada West side that won bronze at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge.

Among his other accomplishments was being named a AJHL Player of the Week back in October while twice being recognized as a game star. He was also a finalist for his league?s top defenceman honour for his efforts during the 2017-18 campaign.

This marks the third straight season that a player from the AJHL has won this award as Lloyd joins Jacob Bernard-Docker (Okotoks Oilers) in 2017-18 and Cale Makar (Brooks Bandits) in 2016-17 in earning the accolades.