Tanner MacMaster Named Finalist for CJHL Rookie of the Year

The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Rookie of the Year Award.  This will be the first time the award is presented on a national level and represents one of seven newly created league awards.

The 2013 Rookie of the Year Award will be presented to the most outstanding rookie based on regular season individual performance.  A CJHL rookie is defined as a player with fewer than 20 games in any Junior A or Major Junior league in previous seasons who is 18 or younger as of December 31st of the current season. 

Each of the 10 leagues in the CJHL nominated a candidate for Rookie of the Year.  The first stage of the selection process saw representatives from all 10 Junior A leagues rank their top five players from among the 10 national nominees.  Rankings were then assigned a point value and the five players with the highest point total (and ties) move on as finalists to the final round of voting.

The finalists for the 2013 CJHL Rookie of the Year are:

Jake Evans, St Michael’s Buzzers, OJHL (50 GP, 12 G, 32 A, 44 PTS)
Jake Evans finished seventh overall in team scoring with 44 points in 50 games. A native of Toronto, Evans was the youngest member of Team Canada East at the 2012 World Junior 'A' Challenge in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. He would also be named to the OJHL Prospects Team that would defeat the CCHL Prospects at the 2012 Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge. Following the season, Evans was named an OJHL 1st Team All-Prospect.  Evans has committed to Notre Dame University.

Joel Horodziejczyk, Soo Thunderbirds, NOJHL (32 GP, 19 W, 10 L, 2 T, 2 SO, 2.38 GAA, .918 SV%)
Joel Horodziejczyk was named NOJHL Rookie of the Year.  In 32 appearances during the course of the 2012-13 regular season, Horodziejczyk posted a win-loss-tie record of 19-10-2 along with a goals-against average of 2.38 and a .918 save mark. He finished third overall in the league in victories while sitting second in both goals against average and save percentage. The 18-year-old Sudbury product also shared fourth spot in the NOJHL in shutouts with two.

Tristan Keck, Winkler Flyers, MJHL (60 GP, 31 G, 32 A, 63 PTS)
Tristan Keck was selected as the MJHL Rookie of the Year.  Keck led all MJHL rookies in scoring with 63 points on 31 goals and 32 assists. He finished 11th overall in league scoring and was one of two 17-year old players among the league's top 20 scorers. 

Jake Larson, Minnesota Wilderness, SIJHL (49 GP, 44 G, 28 A, 72 PTS)
Jake Larson is the SIJHL Rookie of the Year.  The St. Michael’s, Minnesota native, who turned 19 in February, led all SIJHL skaters in goals this season with 44 and also finished second overall in league scoring with 72 points. Larson ended the regular season riding an impressive 19-game point streak, which included 17 tallies.

Tanner MacMaster, Camrose Kodiaks, AJHL (56 GP, 24 G, 24 A, 48 PTS)
Camrose Kodiaks forward Tanner MacMaster is the 2012-2013 AJHL Rookie of the Year. MacMaster led all rookies in scoring with 48 points and the Kodiaks with 24 goals. MacMaster was a unanimous selection to the AJHL South Division All-Rookie team and represented the AJHL as a member of Team Pacific at the 2013 World Junior Under 17 Hockey Challenge. MacMaster has committed to Boston College.

Morgan Messenger, Yarmouth Mariners, MHL (36 GP, 19 G, 15 A, 34 PTS)
MHL Rookie of the Year, Morgan Messenger, just turned 17-years old and is a native of Barrington, Nova Scotia.  Messenger was a noticeable offensive threat early for the Mariners and although he missed several games due to injuries, he finished with 34 points in 36 games. Messenger was also chosen to play in the CJHL Prospects Games held in November of 2012.

Kelly Summers, Carleton Place Canadians, CCHL (59 GP, 13 G, 20 A, 33 PTS)
Kelly Summers was named the CCHL Rookie of the Year for the 2012-2013 season. Kelly’s remarkable freshman season was marked by a number of statistical accomplishments and accolades.  With 33 points in 59 games, he finished11th overall in defencemen scoring and third overall in rookie points.  Summers was named to the CCHL All-Rookie Team and was selected to participate on the CCHL Central Canada Cup Prospects team. Summers has committed to Clarkson University.

Congratulations to all ten Rookie of the Year Award nominees, which included the following CJHL rookies who are also winners of their respective league awards:

• Brett Boehm, Flin Flon Bombers, SJHL
• Ryan Groop, Penticton Vees, BCHL
• Alexis Guilbault, Lauréats de Saint-Hyacinthe, LHJAAAQ

On February 6, 2013, the Canadian Junior Hockey League announced that it will recognize the best Junior A talent from across all 10 Junior A leagues with a new suite of national awards.  The new CJHL awards include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Defenceman, Top Goaltender and Rookie of the Year as well as Coach of the Year and Top NHL Prospect.   Every Junior A league in the CJHL has submitted a nominee for each award and the winner will be chosen from among those 10 national nominees.  The selection panel consists of representatives from each of the CJHL's 10 Junior A leagues and the award winners will be chosen based on a weighted-voting system. 

The Top 5 finalists (and ties) for all CJHL awards will be announced during the week of April 22-26.  The first-ever recipient of the 2013 CJHL Rookie of the Year and all other CJHL award winners will be announced during the week of May 6-10.