Team East Wins President’s Cup at CJHL Prospects Game

Team East has defeated Team West in two consecutive games to capture the President’s Cup at the 2010 CJHL Prospects Series. Team East recorded a 2-1 shootout victory on Tuesday night, followed by a 7-1 win on Wednesday in Dauphin, Manitoba. The CJHL Prospects Series is a two-game, total goal series.

The CJHL Prospects Game was created to showcase the top 40 NHL draft eligible players in the CJHL. Player selection is a joint initiative of the CJHL and NHL Central Scouting. The event attracts scouts from the NHL, CHL and Canadian and American colleges and universities. The CJHL Prospects Game features NHL draft prospects from the CJHL’s five Western leagues competing against the top prospects from the CJHL’S five Eastern leagues.

Period 1
Team East Goal #1 @ 2:19 #14 Darcy GreenAway from #19 Brian Bunnett
Team East Goal #2 @ 9:17 #16 Mitchell Deruelles from #10 Jason Lacroix
Team East Goal #3 @13:38 #10 Jason Lacroix from #16 Mitchell Deruelles and #8 Brent Norris
Team East Goal #4 @ 16:49 (PP) #20 Matthew Peca from #14 Darcy GreenAway and #17 Charles Power

Period 2
Team West Goal #1 @ 3:46 (PP) #4 Brody Luhning from #5 Luke Madill and # 9 Mitch VanTeeling.
Team East Goal #5 @ 7:51 #24 Evan Rodrigues from #22 Braedan Russell and #5 Luke Juha
Team East Goal #6 @ 12:01 #2 Curtis Leonard from #12 Scott Wilson and #22 Braedan Russell

Period 3
Team East Goal #7 @ 5:27 #22 Braedan Russell from #12 Scott Wilson and #24 Evan Rodrigues

The Player of the Game for Team East is Darcy GreenAway (OJHL), who recorded 2 goals and 1 assist over the two game series. Defenceman Sam Jardine (AJHL) is the Player of the Game for Team West.

Dauphin Kings General Manager and Head Coach, Marlin Murray, led Team East while Kings Assistant Coach Marc Berry led Team West.

The Canadian Junior Hockey League continues to be a strong supplier of talent to the National Hockey League. Nineteen players from the Canadian Junior Hockey League are identified on the NHL Central Scouting “Players to Watch” list for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft. Five alumni of the CJHL Prospects Game have been selected in the 1st Round of the NHL Entry Draft, including Kyle Turris (BCHL), Riley Nash (BCHL), Beau Bennett (BCHL), Joe Colborne (AJHL) and Dylan Olsen (AJHL).

Team East and Team West compete annually for the President’s Cup, which is awarded to the winning team at the CJHL Prospects Event.

  • 2010 – Game 1: Team East wins 2-1 (SO); Game 2: Team East wins 7-1 in Dauphin, MB
  • 2009 – Game 1: Team West wins 8-1; Game 2: Team East wins 2 – 0 in Winkler, MB
  • 2008 – Team East defeated Team West 6-3 in Summerside, PEI
  • 2007 – Team East defeated Team West 5-3 in Winkler, MB
  • 2006 – Team West defeated Team East 6-2 in Vernon, BC
  • 2005 – Team West defeated Team East 5-4 in Yorkton, SK

Visit for more information on the 2010 CJHL Prospects Event.

Photo Gallery