The RBC Play Hockey Project Presents the 2013 AJHL League Award Finalists

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with The RBC Play Hockey Project, is proud to unveil the finalists for the 2013 AJHL League Awards.  The award winners will be announced immediately following the 2012-2013 AJHL Regular Season.

Two finalists from each division were selected by the league’s General Managers and Coaches through the first phase of voting.  The award winners for each of the categories listed below will be determined through a final vote by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches over the final two weeks of the regular season.

2012-2013 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists:

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy
• Cam Maclise, Brooks Bandits
• Brennan Baxandall, Drumheller Dragons
• Jerome Raymond, Whitecourt Wolverines
• Dylan Richard, Spruce Grove Saints

2012 Winner – Peter Quenneville, Sherwood Park Crusaders

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Dodge Dealers
• Jonathan Lashyn, Camrose Kodiaks
• Mitchell Gartner, Drumheller Dragons
• Josh Healy, Sherwood Park Crusaders
• Dustin Fostvelt, Spruce Grove Saints

2012 Winner – Blake Leask, Bonnyville Pontiacs

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels
• Tanner MacMaster, Camrose Kodiaks
• Colin Cooper, Calgary Canucks
• Luc Lalor, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Carson Soucy, Spruce Grove Saints

2012 Winner – Anthony Petruzzelli, Brooks Bandits

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy
• Jared D'Amico, Okotoks Oilers
• Ty Swabb, Canmore Eagles
• Nick Kulmanovsky, Grande Prairie Storm
• Marc-Olivier Daigle, Drayton Valley Thunder

2012 Winner – Tyler Briggs, Lloydminster Bobcats

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy
• Jonathan Lashyn, Camrose Kodiaks
• Dylan Hubbs, Olds Grizzlys
• Luke Madill, Drayton Valley Thunder
• Tim Nolte, Spruce Grove Saints

2012 Winner – Carson Cooper, Fort McMurray Oil Barons

Coach of the Year
• Ryan Papaioannou, Brooks Bandits
• Boris Rybalka, Camrose Kodiaks
• Gord Thibodeau, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Jason McKee, Spruce Grove Saints

2012 Winner – Brian Curran, Lloydminster Bobcats

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2012-2013 AJHL Regular Season.

• Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
• Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
• Top Team Goaltenders – Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
• Stewy Stewart Memorial – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
• Pro Hockey Life Cup

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country's Men's and Women's National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada's national Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels.  

RBC Play Hockey Grants will help grassroots hockey in your community to get started, get better and go further. To apply, visit