The RBC Play Hockey Project Presents the AJHL Award Finalists

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with The RBC Play Hockey Project, today announced the finalists for the 2010-2011 AJHL League Awards. Two finalists from each division were selected by the League General Managers and Coaches.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists for 2010-2011 are as follows:

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

  • Julien Laplante – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Tanner Fritz – Grande Prairie Storm
  • Cole Cheveldave – Drumheller Dragons
  • Kyle Reynolds – Okotoks Oilers

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy

  • Brock Maschmeyer – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Felix-Antoine Poulin – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Colten Hayes – Okotoks Oilers
  • Corbin Karl – Olds Grizzlys

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy

  • Ty Carey – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Sammy Spurrell – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Sam Jardine – Camrose Kodiaks
  • Cole Cheveldave – Drumheller Dragons

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

  • Kevin Carthy – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Adam Johnson – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Tyler Horton – Canmore Eagles
  • Evan Warner – Drumheller Dragons

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

  • Julien Laplante – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Vincenzo Marozzi – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Jan Obernesser – Brooks Bandits
  • Cole Cheveldave – Drumheller Dragons

Coach of the Year

  • Chad Mercier – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Gord Thibodeau – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • James Poole – Okotoks Oilers
  • Kevin Willison – Olds Grizzlys

The award winners for each of the categories listed above will be determined through voting by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches. The award winners will be announced immediately following the completion of the
2010-2011 AJHL Regular Season.

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2010-2011 AJHL Regular Season.

  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Team Goaltenders – Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Stewy Stewart Memorial – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy


The 2011 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will begin on Thursday, February 24th, 2011. The top seven teams in each Division will qualify for the 2011 AJHL Playoffs. The first place team in each division will receive a bye during the best-of-five First Round Divisional Playoffs.

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country’s Men’s and Women’s National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada’s national Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels. RBC Play Hockey Grants will help grassroots hockey in your community to get started, get better and go further. To apply, visit

RBC sponsors amateur sport in communities across North America, from grassroots programs to national sport associations and elite-level athletes.