Trio of Kodiaks Commit to Mount Royal

The Camrose Kodiaks are pleased to announce that a trio of 20-year-olds have committed to the Mount Royal University Men’s Hockey program for the 2011/12 Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference Hockey League season. Forwards Tyler Jewitt (Calgary, AB), Brooks Myers (Calgary, AB) as well as goaltender Dalyn Flette (Calgary, AB) will be joining the Cougars this fall. This season will be Mount Royal’s last season in the ACAC as they get set to battle the top schools in the Canada West (CIS) come the fall of 2012-13.
Jewitt joined the Kodiaks during this past year from the Calgary Canucks and finished the season with 21 goals and 38 assists in 61 games. He was also the leading scorer for the team during the playoffs where he tallied 18 points in 23 games. “Tyler was instrumental in helping us win the AJHL South Division” notes G.M./Coach Boris Rybalka. “He scored some very big goals for us, and added some great scoring punch.”
Myers played his entire Junior A career with the Kodiaks and was the consummate team player. “No one worked harder and gave more effort night in and night out than Brooks” says G.M./Coach Boris Rybalka. “Many nights he was our most consistent forward. He is very much a student of the game and his leadership will be missed on the bench and in the dressing room.”
Flette played in 39 games this regular season, posting a 2.63 G.A.A and a .909 Save Percentage with 3 shutouts. During the course of the playoffs, he played every minute of all 23 games, posting an impressive 2.23 G.A.A. and an even more impressive .932 Save Percentage with 1 shutout.
Dalyn was recently named the Most Valuable Goalie for the 2011 Royal bank Cup as well as being named the Most Valuable Player of the Royal Bank Cup.
“Quite frankly, Daylyn took our team on his shoulders during the playoffs, and carried us to the league final” says Coach Boris Rybalka. “We will not be surprised to see him making a push to be the number one guy in Calgary this fall.”
The Kodiaks would like to congratulate all three players and their families. We want wish all of them continued success in their future academic and athletic pursuits.