Tyler Deis Named CJHL Coach of the Year

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Tyler Deis of the Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) has been named its Coach of the Year for the 2017-18 campaign.

Deis earned the laurels through voting completed by each of the 10-member Jr. ‘A’ leagues that comprise the CJHL in recognition of his club’s efforts throughout the course of the regular season.

He earned the honour over fellow CJHL Coach of the Year finalists Jesse Winchester, Brockville Braves (CCHL); Paul Dyck, Steinbach Pistons (MJHL); John Dean, Toronto Patriots (OJHL) and Doug Johnson, Nipawin Hawks (SJHL).

The 43-year-old Calgary product guided Okotoks to the best record in the AJHL this season leading his club to 24 consecutive victories to wrap-up the campaign while finishing with a 52-6-2 mark and 106 points.

The Oilers were also tabbed the No. 1 team in the final CJHL Top 20 Rankings for 2017-18.

Deis was earlier named the AJHL’s Coach of the Year to honour his efforts behind the bench.

He also serves as Okotoks general manager and director of hockey development.

As a player, Deis skated at forward in the CJHL for the Melfort Mustangs (SJHL) before going on to attend Minnesota State University in Mankato, Minn., on NCAA Division I scholarship.