17 AJHL Alumni on 2020-21 NHL Opening Day Rosters

The puck has dropped on the 2020-21 NHL season and 17 former Alberta Junior Hockey League players are on the Opening Day rosters!

While some played their entire Junior career in the AJHL, others made just brief stops along the way to the NHL.   Below is a complete list of former AJHLers on NHL rosters to start the 2020-21 regular season:

Aaron Dell (G) Toronto Maple Leafs
Braden Holtby (G) Vancouver Canucks
Brayden Point (C) Tampa Bay Lightning
Cale Makar (D) Colorado Avalanche
Carson Soucy (D) Minnesota Wild
Carter Rowney (C/RW) Anaheim Ducks
Colton Parayko (D) St. Louis Blues
Ian Mitchell (D) Chicago Blackhawks
Jay Beagle (C) Vancouver Canucks
Jordan Martinook (W/C) Carolina Hurricanes
Kevin Connauton (D) Florida Panthers
Kodie Curran (D) Anaheim Ducks
Mark Pysyk (D/RW) Dallas Stars
Matt Benning (D) Nashville Predators
Nick Holden (D) Vegas Golden Knights
Sam Steel (C/LW) Anaheim Ducks
Taylor Fedun (D) Dallas Stars


97 players have been selected directly from the Alberta Junior Hockey League in the NHL Entry Draft and 22 AJHL Alumni have went on to win the Stanley Cup. Brooks Bandits defenceman Cale Makar made history as the highest drafted AJHL Player when the Colorado Avalanche selected him 4th overall in the 2017 NHL Entry Draft.