2010-11 AJHL All League & Rookie Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the 2010-2011 Reebok AJHL All-League Teams and CCM AJHL All-Rookie Teams. The nominees for each team were selected by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Reebok South Division All-League Team
G Jan Obernesser Brooks Bandits
D Colten Hayes Okotoks Oilers
D Corbin Karl Olds Grizzlys
F Kyle Reynolds Okotoks Oilers
F Riley Simpson Brooks Bandits
F Matt Wilkins Brooks Bandits

Reebok North Division All-League Team
G Julien Laplante Bonnyville Pontiacs
D Brock Maschmeyer Ft. McMurray Oil Barons
D Felix Antoine Poulin Spruce Grove Saints
F Tanner Fritz Grande Prairie Storm
F Reed Linaker St. Albert Steel
F Devon Kalinski Bonnyville Pontiacs

CCM South Division All-Rookie Team
G Cole Cheveldave Drumheller Dragons
D Sam Jardine Camrose Kodiaks
D Jonathan Lashyn Camrose Kodiaks
F Zane Jones Olds Grizzlys
F Chase McMurphy Calgary Mustangs
F Houston Hazelaar Okotoks Oilers

CCM North Division All-Rookie Team
G Tyler Briggs Lloydminster Bobcats
D Corey Chorneyko Spruce Grove Saints
D Dustin Fostvelt Spruce Grove Saints
F Sammy Spurrell Spruce Grove Saints
F Mitchell Board Ft. McMurray Oil Barons
F Ty Carey Bonnyville Pontiacs

Four players on the North Division All-League Team are finalists for 2010-2011 AJHL League Awards, including League MVP finalists Tanner Fritz and Julien Laplante, and Outstanding Defenceman finalists Felix Antoine Poulin and Brock Maschmeyer. Forward Reed Linaker represented the AJHL at the 2010 World Junior A Challenge. Two North Division selections have already committed to extend their careers at a post-secondary institute (Julien Laplante, Tanner Fritz).

The South Division All-League Team includes four AJHL League Award Finalists; League MVP finalist Kyle Reynolds, and Corbin Karl, Colten Hayes and Jan Obernesser. The AJHL South Division All-League Team includes three players from the Brooks Bandits. Brooks Bandits goaltender Jan Obernesser also participated in the 2010 Canadian Junior Hockey League Prospects Game. Riley Simpson was named to the 2009-2010 South Division All-Rookie Team and is now a selection for the 2010-2011 AJHL South Division All-League Team. Colten Hayes and Riley Simpson have committed to attend post-secondary institutes to continue their academic and athletic careers.

Two finalists for the 2010-2011 AJHL Rookie of the Year Award are members of the South Division All-Rookie Team (Cole Cheveldave, Sam Jardine). Goaltender Cole Cheveldave is also a finalist for the AJHL League MVP Award and Top Goaltender Award. Sam Jardine represented the AJHL at the 2010 World Junior A Challenge and 2010 Canadian Junior Hockey League Prospects Game earlier this season. Sam Jardine and Jonathan Lashyn have both committed to post-secondary institutes following their AJHL careers.

The North Division All-Rookie Team boasts three members of the league leading Spruce Grove Saints. Two players are finalists for the 2010-2011 AJHL Rookie of the Year Award (Sammy Spurrell, Ty Carey).

Two players were unanimous selections to the North Division All-Rookie Team (Tyler Briggs, Sammy Spurrell), one player was a unanimous choice for the South Division All-Rookie Team (Cole Cheveldave), and Tanner Fritz was a unanimous nominee for the North Division All-League Team.

The opening round of the 2011 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will commence on Thursday, February 24th in the South Division and Friday February 25th in the North Division. Watch each game of the 2011 AJHL Playoffs live on AJHL Pay Per View!