AJHL Alumni Push Alberta to 16th University Cup

FREDERICTON, N.B. – The University of Alberta Golden Bears erased another two-goal deficit, defeating the St. FX X-Men 4-2 in the 2018 University Cup Final, to win their 16th National Championship in program history.  This is the third University Cup title for Alberta in five years, after winning back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015. Their 16 overall national championships are the most in Canadian University history, six more than the University of Toronto Varsity Blues.

After trailing by two goals early in the first, the Golden Bears battled back to level the game at two, with Wil Tomchuk (Fort McMurray Oil Barons) scoring the eventual game-winner early in the second period.

“The coaches gave me an opportunity, and I was the lucky one to score,” said Tomchuk on the winner. “There's 26 other guys that got us here. Without them, I wouldn't have scored that goal. It was just hard work. I kind of blacked out. I just remember being out in front and hammering it home, and the boys pulled through for the rest of the game.”

Box Score


The Golden Bears roster includes seven players with extensive AJHL experience, and another six players who spent a handful of games in the Alberta Junior Hockey League:

  • Luke Philp, Forward (Canmore Eagles)
  • Clayton Kirichenko, Defence (Spruce Grove Saints)
  • Jamie Crooks, Forward (Lloydminster Bobcats)
  • Taylor Cooper, Forward (Spruce Grove Saints)
  • Riley Kieser, Forward (Sherwood Park Crusaders)
  • Jayden Hart, Forward (Spruce Grove Saints)
  • Tyson Baillie, Forward (Drayton Valley Thunder / Spruce Grove Saints)
  • Ben Carroll, Defence (Sherwood Park Crusaders)
  • Tanner Clarkson, Forward (Drayton Valley Thunder / Lloydminster Bobcats)
  • Wil Tomchuk, Defence (Fort McMurray Oil Barons)
  • Kenny Cameron, Goalie (Spruce Grove Saints)
  • Cole Linaker, Forward (St Albert Steel)
  • Nick Charif, Defence (Sherwood Park Crusaders)

With files from Connor Hood, Bears and Pandas Athletics