The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) Board of Governors has approved the sale of the Whitecourt Wolverines to local businessman Cory Masse.  The ownership change and recently announced league expansion will progress the AJHL into the 2024-25 season with 12 teams under both a new league structure and schedule format.

Cory Masse was raised in Whitecourt, AB with deep roots in the community and a strong passion for supporting its growth and prosperity. Inspired by his father, Darrell Masse, who successfully established a modular home business in the area, he inherited an entrepreneurial spirit.  Cory and his wife Terriann are proud owners of two successful businesses in Whitecourt.

Alongside managing their own ventures, the Masse family is deeply involved in various community activities, including supporting local sports, and have made significant contributions to the Whitecourt Wolverines.

“I envision a revitalization of the team and a restoration of its former glory within the hockey community,” stated Cory Masse.  “Our leadership and commitment will demonstrate a dedication to providing the Wolverines with the resources necessary for success.”

“We are grateful for Cory’s commitment to the community of Whitecourt and the Alberta Junior Hockey League and welcome his passion and desire for the Wolverines; making our game and League stronger,” said AJHL Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk.  “The AJHL and its Board of Governors recognized the importance of maintaining a team in the community and look forward to Cory’s contribution to the success of the League.”

The Alberta Junior Hockey League will restructure as two divisions for the 2024-25 season – the AJHL North Division and AJHL South Division.  The Whitecourt Wolverines and new Devon Xtreme team will both play in the North Division.

Viterra AJHL North Division

  • Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Devon Xtreme
  • Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Grande Prairie Storm
  • Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Whitecourt Wolverines

Viterra AJHL South Division

  • Calgary Canucks
  • Camrose Kodiaks
  • Canmore Eagles
  • Drayton Valley Thunder
  • Drumheller Dragons
  • Olds Grizzlys