Alumnus Brody Hoffman on Watch List for NCAA Mike Richter Award

CALGARY, Alberta – Eight former Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) goalies were listed on the annual watch list of twenty for the 2014 – 2015 Mike Richter Award.  This annual award honours the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA Division l men’s hockey.  The winner will be announced at the 2015 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Boston.

Goalies on the Mike Richter Award watch list are chosen by members of Let’s Play Hockey, utilizing both past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included on the first list of the season. Additions and deletions to this list, including freshmen, will be made as the 2014-15 season unfolds

The candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches.  The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Both the BCHL and OJHL had three goalies on the list, the AJHL and the CCHL had one goalie on the list, while one goalie had playing experience in the SJHL.  The following are the eight CJHL alumni on the Mike Richter Award watch list:


  • Brody Hoffman, Fort McMurray Oil Barons*, AJHL
  • Charlie Finn, Kingston Voyageurs, OJHL
  • Michael Gartieg, Powell River Kings, BCHL
  • Lukas Hafner, Cornwall Colts, CCHL
  • Cole Huggins, Coquitlam Express**,  BCHL
  • Matt O'Connor, Upper Canada Patriots***, OJHL
  • Joel Rumpel, Penticton Vees, BCHL
  • Jimmy Sarjeant, Newmarket Hurricanes, OJHL


* Also played for the Nipawin Hawks of the SJHL     

** Also played for the Langley Chiefs of the BCHL      

*** Also played for the Burlington Cougars of the OJHL