Doyle Cup Series Shifts to Spruce Grove, AB

The 2018 Doyle Cup between the Wenatchee Wild and the Spruce Grove Saints will now shift to Spruce Grove for the remainder of the best-of seven series.  The Saints trail the Wild 2-0 after the opening two games played in WA.

After falling 3-2 one night earlier in a series-opener that required overtime, the Saints found themselves down 1-0 Saturday after 51:30 of scoreless hockey was broken up by August Von Ungern and an unassisted goal. Jasper Weatherby and A.J. Vanderbeck followed up with empty netters to finish the game 3-0.

Game 3 goes Tuesday at 7:00pm in Spruce Grove, with tickets going on sale Sunday at noon at

The Wenatchee Wild are the BCHL champions, having defeated the Prince George Spruce Kings in Game 5 of the league finals while the AJHL crown belongs to the Spruce Grove Saints, who got past the Okotoks Oilers in Game 5.

The Wild became the BCHL’s first American entry since the Bellingham Ice Hawks, who were active from 1990 to ’95. With their win over the Spruce Kings, Wenatchee became the BCHL’s first US champion since the Bellingham Blazers won it in 1978-79.

The Doyle Cup was last contested for in 2012 before the Western Canada Cup (WCC) was formed. From 2013 to 2017, the Western Canada Cup replaced the Doyle Cup. The WCC was a five-team event that featured the winners of the four Western CJHL leagues (BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba) plus the host team with the top two teams advancing to the RBC Cup.

The Doyle Cup winner will earn a spot into the RBC Cup from May 12th-20th in Chilliwack, BC.

  •         Game 1 – April 27 in Wenatchee
  •         Game 2 – April 28 in Wenatchee
  •         Game 3 – May 1 in Spruce Grove
  •         Game 4 – May 2 in Spruce Grove
  •         *Game 5 – May 4 in Spruce Grove
  •         *Game 6 – May 5 in Spruce Grove
  •         *Game 7 – May 6 in Spruce Grove

* if necessary (best of seven series)

The Doyle Cup was established in 1985 upon a donation by Penticton businessman Pete Doyle. The Penticton Vees are the last team to have their name etched on the trophy as they defeated the Brooks Bandits on their way to the 2012 RBC Cup National Title.   The winner of the Doyle Cup has gone on to claim the National Junior A Title 14 times.