Head Coaches Named for CJHL Prospects Game

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that John Dean of the Toronto Patriots (OJHL) and Joe Martin of the Merritt Centennials (BCHL) have named the head coaches of Team East and Team West respectively for the upcoming CJHL Prospects Game, which goes Tuesday, January 23 at 7:30 p.m. ET at Port Credit Memorial Arena in Mississauga, Ont.

This contest, which is in partnership with the National Hockey League, Hockey Canada, the Ontario Junior Hockey League and its member club, the Mississauga Chargers (OJHL), will feature 40 of the top NHL Draft eligible players from among the 10-league, 132-team CJHL taking part.

The names of the assistant coaches and support staffs of the two teams for the CJHL Prospects Game will be announced later in the week.

TEAM EAST HEAD COACH – JOHN DEAN (TORONTO PATRIOTS/OJHL): The 36-year-old Dean made his international coaching debut as an assistant coach with Canada East at the World Jr. A Challenge in Truro, N.S. … He is in his first season as head coach of the Toronto Patriots (OJHL) after three years as an assistant with the OHL’s North Bay Battalion. … A former finalist for OJHL Coach of the Year, Dean was head coach of the North York Rangers from 2011-14, prior to which he spent two years as an assistant. … He was a regional scout for Team Canada East ahead of the 2014 World Junior A Challenge, and served as a guest coach at the 2013 selection camp.

TEAM WEST HEAD COACH – JOE MARTIN (MERRITT CENTENNIALS/BCHL): Martin recently served as an assistant coach for Canada West at the World Jr. A Challenge where he helped that side capture a gold medal. … Martin has spent the last seven seasons with the Merritt Centennials (BCHL), and is in his third campaign there as head coach and general manager. Martin, 36, was a guest coach for Canada West ahead of the 2016 WJAC. … He previously coached in the 2009 CJHL Prospects Game and was an assistant coach for Team Yukon at the 2007 Canada Winter Games. … He was also tabbed KIJHL Coach of the Year in 2010-11.

Tickets for the CJHL Prospects Game are General Admission and cost just $10. They are available via the following options:

Phone: (905) 919-3623 Extension 3
Email: rcorneau@theojhl.ca
In Person: At all Mississauga Chargers (OJHL) Home Games

The Prospects Game will feature 40 of the top NHL Draft eligible players from across the 10-league, 132-team CJHL taking part.

The rosters boast 20 prospects selected from the five eastern-based CJHL leagues (MHL, LHJAAAQ, CCHL, OJHL & NOJHL) taking on top 20 prospects from among the CJHL’s five western leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL, MJHL & SIJHL).

Each of the respective team line-ups were chosen in partnership with NHL Central Scouting.

The CJHL Prospects Game will also be streamed live online via HockeyTV.com.


The CJHL Prospects Game, in partnership with the NHL, Hockey Canada and NHL Central Scouting, is one of the premier Junior A hockey events in the country and provides tremendous exposure for CJHL players to play in front of scouts from all over the hockey world – including the NHL, CHL, NCAA and Canadian universities and colleges. The President's Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President's Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title. 

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with player testing, both on-ice and off-ice, having been introduced. Since its inception, Team West has won seven times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

All-Time CJHL Prospects Game President's Cup results

2006: Team West 5 Team East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2007: Team West 6 Team East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2008: Team East 5 Team West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2009: Team East 6 Team West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2010: Team West 8 Team East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2011: Team East 9 Team West 2 (2-1 SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2012: Team West 9 Team East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2013: Team West 8 Team East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014: Team East 8 Team West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2015: Team West 3 Team East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)
2016: Team East 3 Team West 1 (Surrey, B.C.)
2017: Team West 4 Team East 3 (Cornwall, Ont.)
2018: Team East vs. Team West • Tuesday, January 23, 2018 • 7:30 p.m. ET (Mississauga, Ont.)