Hobey Baker Finalists Announced

Hockey East and the WCHA each have three players among the 10 finalists for the 2011 Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

The list, released Thursday, also includes two players from the CCHA — teammates Carter Camper and Andy Miele of Miami — and one from Atlantic Hockey.

Boston College’s Cam Atkinson, Maine’s Gustav Nyquist (a Hobey Hat Trick finalist last season) and New Hampshire’s Paul Thompson are among the nine forwards on the list.

Wisconsin’s Justin Schultz is the only defenseman, and he is joined by WCHA forwards Jack Connolly of Minnesota-Duluth and Matt Frattin of North Dakota.

Rensselaer’s Chase Polacek and Niagara’s Paul Zanette also are part of the top 10, which was selected in voting by the 58 Division I coaches and online fan ballowing.

Read more