Vince Marozzi Awarded RBC Junior A Scholarship

Alberta Junior Hockey League President Craig T. Cripps presented Vince Marozzi of the Spruce Grove Saints with the 2011 RBC Junior A Scholarship prior to Sunday’s AJHL playoff game at the Grant Fuhr Arena in Spruce Grove. Marozzi, and the RBC Junior A Scholarship recipient from each League within the Canadian Junior Hockey League, will receive $1,000 towards a post-secondary education and will be eligible for the $5,000 National RBC Junior A Scholarship.

Vince Marozzi plans to obtain an Engineering Degree (Civil) and is enrolled in part-time studies at Athabasca University. Saints GM / Head Coach Jason Mckee describes Marozzi as a talented athlete with an unwavering work ethic, focused on reaching his goals both athletically and academically. “Vince has managed to balance the rigors of a part-time student and a full-time commitment to being a top notch Junior A hockey player. I am always impressed by Vince’s time management and dedication to all facets of his life.”

Marozzi is a four year veteran of the Alberta Junior Hockey League and Spruce Grove Saints. Marozzi tied his current franchise record of 7 shutouts in 2010-2011, and has set new franchise records with 21 career shutouts and a career GAA of 1.80, both previously set by himself from 2008-2010. Marozzi was also a finalist for the 2010-2011 AJHL Top Goaltender Award.

“His commitment to success has been a trademark of his outstanding four-year junior career,” added Mckee. Marozzi was also presented with the 2010-2011 Top Team Goaltenders Award on Sunday. The Top Team Goaltenders Award is an annual award given to the goaltenders of the team with the lowest goals against average (GAA) in the regular season. Goaltenders Vincenzo Marozzi and Joel Miller of the Spruce Grove Saints are the recipients of the 2010-2011 Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award. The Saints allowed just 106 goals this year (1.77 GAA).

Vincenzo Marozzi and Travis Rolheiser of the Spruce Grove Saints were the recipients of the 2009-2010 Top Team Goaltenders Award. Marozzi was selected to the 2010 AJHL North Division All-Star Team and the 2009-2010 AJHL North Division All League Team.

The annual scholarship provides financial assistance to players of the Canadian Junior Hockey League for their post-secondary education. Players eligible for the RBC Junior A Scholarship must be a Canadian citizen, on a Canadian Junior A team roster, and registered in or applying for full-time post-secondary studies. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievements, Junior A success, and community involvement.

The recipient of the $5,000 National RBC Junior A Scholarship will be announced at the 2011 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Camrose. The winner of the National RBC Junior A Scholarship will be selected by a national panel of Hockey Canada appointed junior hockey representatives.