2011 League Scholarship Recipients Announced

The Alberta Junior Hockey League in partnership with the Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society today announced the 2011 League Scholarship recipients. Eighteen scholarships totaling $28,500 will be awarded to AJHL players, alumni, and on-ice officials.

The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society scholarship program has provided $528,000 in scholarships since the program began in the early 1980s.

“As a small group of dedicated volunteers, we believe that education is a very important part of a person’s overall goal in life”, stated Society President Bob Green. “It is an enjoyable exercise when we sit down to evaluate the scholarship applications we receive each year, and see the scholastic achievements of so many young athletes. Many of the members have been with the society for a long period, and we often see young people go on to aspire great careers, and we know we were able to help in a small way by providing them with a scholarship.”

Charles S. Noble Scholarship
The Charles S. Noble Scholarship is awarded to players and alumni taking full-time courses at post-secondary schools in the province. Three Charles S. Noble Scholarships, presented from the Alberta Heritage Scholarship Fund and the Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship Program, will be awarded to this season.

Charles S. Noble Scholarship Recipients:
– Mason Conway, Fort McMurray Oil Barons (alumni)
– Kris Steedsman, Fort McMurray Oil Barons (alumni)

Mark Goodkey Scholarship
Brooks Bandits alumnus John Stimson has been awarded the Mark Goodkey Memorial Scholarship, which is the highest Charles S. Noble Scholarship. It honours the late Fort Saskatchewan and University of Alberta Golden Bears defenceman.

Mark Goodkey Scholarship Recipient:
– John Stimson, Brooks Bandits (alumni)

The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society would like to acknowledge the Province of Alberta’s Advanced Education Scholarship Program Department for their continued support in providing matching funds for the Charles S. Noble Scholarships.

Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarships:

Nickerson Family Scholarship
The Nickerson Family Scholarship is awarded to honour the wife of long-time Fort McMurray Oil Barons’ supporter Dr. Ken Nickerson.

Nickerson Family Scholarship Recipient:
– Krishan Kaushal, Calgary Canucks (alumni)

Al McDonald Memorial Award
The Al McDonald Memorial Award recognizes long-time Sherwood Park General Manager and Co-Owner Al McDonald.

Al McDonald Memorial Award Recipient:
– Rhett Holland, Okotoks Oilers

Richard Warwick Memorial Scholarship
The Richard Warwick Memorial Scholarship is presented in honour of the Fort McMurray Oil Barons alumnus.

Richard Warwick Memorial Scholarship Recipient:
– Zach Ovics, Sherwood Park Crusaders

Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship
Twelve AJHL players, game officials and alumni will be awarded a Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship in 2011. The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarships are awarded to players, game officials and therapists who distinguish themselves in their pursuit of academic and athletic excellence.

Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship Recipients:
– Kyle Kowalski, On-Ice Official
– Kevin Ward, On-Ice Official
– Austen Hebert, Bonnyville Pontiacs
– Jeremy Gerhardt, Bonnyville Pontiacs (alumni)
– Thane Wood, Brooks Bandits (alumni)
– Mathew Chomyc, Calgary Canucks
– Travis Bradshaw, Calgary Royals (alumni)
– Thomas Stachiw, Canmore Eagles (alumni)
– Ryan Hyland, Canmore Eagles (alumni)
– Cory Dvornik, Lloydminster Bobcats (alumni)
– David Andreassen, St. Albert Steel (alumni)
– Corey Chorneyko, Spruce Grove Saints

The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society would like to acknowledge the time and effort put forward by the coaches and managers in encouraging their players to apply for the scholarships. Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society President Bob Green added, “We would also like to encourage all junior hockey players, who are still in school, to take the time to apply for a scholarship next year. Our goal as a society is to provide scholarships to as many qualified applicants as possible each year.”

All current Alberta Junior Hockey League players will be presented with their respective scholarships at an upcoming AJHL game in their home arena over the final weeks of the 2010-2011 Regular Season.