AJHL Announces 2021-2022 All-League Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) is proud to announce the Viterra AJHL All-League Teams for the 2021-22 season.   Players are selected to the respective rosters through a voting process completed by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Viterra North Division All-League Team

  • G         Kolby Thornton – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • D         A.J. Macaulay – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • D         Brett Bamber – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • F           Caiden Gault – Spruce Grove Saints
  • F           Tyler Wallace – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • F           Kash Rasmussen – Bonnyville Pontiacs

Viterra South Division All-League Team

  • G         Andreai Proctor-Ramirez – Canmore Eagles
  • D         Zach Bookman – Brooks Bandits
  • D         Robert Kincaid – Camrose Kodiaks
  • F           Ryan McAllister – Brooks Bandits*
  • F           TJ Hughes – Brooks Bandits
  • F           Rieger Lorenz – Okotoks Oilers

AJHL Scoring Champion and League MVP, Ryan McAllister (Brooks Bandits), was a unanimous selection to the South Division AJHL All-League roster.   All four finalists for the 2021-22 AJHL MVP Award were selected to the AJHL All-League Teams (McAllister, Thornton, Rasmussen, Lorenz).

The four finalists for the 2021-22 AJHL Top Forward Award and Outstanding Defenceman Award are all represented on the AJHL All-League Teams.   TJ Hughes (Brooks Bandits) was first recipient of the newly created AJHL Top Forward award and the AJHL Leading Goal Scorer award; the finalists included Gault Wallace, Hughes and Lorenz.   Zach Bookman (Brooks Bandits) won the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s Outstanding Defenceman award after being nominated alongside Macaulay, Bamber and Kincaid.

Zach Bookman (Brooks Bandits) and Rieger Lorenz (Okotoks Oilers) were also named to the Viterra South Division AJHL All-Rookie Team for the 2021-22 season.   Lorenz and Bookman are listed in the NHL Central Scouting Midterm Rankings for the 2022 NHL Entry Draft.   Lorenz is the highest-ranked NHL prospect in the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) at 24th among North American skaters and Bookman is listed at 208th.

The 2021-22 AJHL All-League rosters include ten players committed to an NCAA College or University:

  • Zach Bookman – Brooks Bandits (Merrimack College)
  • Rieger Lorenz – Okotoks Oilers (University of Denver)
  • A.J. Macaulay – Bonnyville Pontiacs (University of Alaska Fairbanks)
  • Brett Bamber – Drayton Valley Thunder (University of Alaska Anchorage)
  • Caiden Gault – Spruce Grove Saints (Ferris State University)
  • Tyler Wallace – Fort McMurray Oil Barons (Niagara University)
  • Kash Rasmussen – Bonnyville Pontiacs (Michigan Tech)
  • Robert Kincaid – Camrose Kodiaks (University of Maine)
  • Ryan McAllister – Brooks Bandits (Western Michigan University)
  • TJ Hughes – Brooks Bandits (University of Michigan)