AJHL Announces 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-League Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) today announced the 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-League Teams as selected by the General Managers and Coaches of the AJHL.

Viterra AJHL All-League 1st Team

  • G     Ben Charette – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • D     JR Ashmead – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • D     Brody Mortensen – Canmore Eagles
  • F      Luka Sukovic – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • F      Vann Yuhas – Drumheller Dragons
  • F      Caden Cabana – Lloydminster Bobcats

Viterra AJHL All-League 2nd Team

  • G     Julian Molinaro – Calgary Canucks
  • D     Ryan Henderson – Drumheller Dragons
  • D     Brody Tallman – Canmore Eagles
  • F      Bowden Singleton – Calgary Canucks
  • F      Travis Verbeek – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • F      Alex Atwill – Grande Prairie Storm

The Viterra AJHL All-League 1st Team includes two members of the Bonnyville Pontiacs and the roster is rounded out by single selections from the Whitecourt Wolverines, Canmore Eagles, Drumheller Dragons and Lloydminster Bobcats.

The four finalists of the 2023-24 AJHL MVP Award have all been selected to the Viterra AJHL All-League 1st Team (Charette, Yuhas, Cabana, Sukovic), including AJHL MVP and Top Forward Award winner Luka Sukovic and 2023-24 Scoring Champion Caden Cabana.

2023-24 AJHL Top Goaltender Ben Charette and 2023-24 Outstanding Defenceman Brody Mortensen also earned a spot on the Viterra AJHL All-League 1st Team.

The Calgary Canucks are represented by two players on the Viterra AJHL All-League 2nd Team.  A player from the Grande Prairie Storm, Whitecourt Wolverines, Canmore Eagles and Drumheller Dragons complete the roster.

Four of the players highlighted on the All-League Teams are Captains of their respective organizations (Singleton, Tallman, Cabana, Yuhas).  The finalists for the AJHL Top Forward Award all secured spots on the Viterra AJHL All-League Teams (Yuhas, Cabana, Sukovic, Singleton).

Six players on the 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-League rosters have committed to the NCAA:

  • Ben Charette – Harvard University
  • Travis Verbeek – University of Alaska Anchorage
  • Luka Sukovic – Clarkson University
  • JR Ashmead – Robert Morris University
  • Brody Mortensen – Lindenwood University
  • Vann Yuhas – Merrimack College