AJHL Names 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-Rookie Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) is proud to announce the 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-Rookie Teams as selected by the General Managers and Coaches of the AJHL.

Viterra AJHL All-Rookie 1st Team

  • G     Jack Solomon – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • D     Dante Siciliano – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • D     Carter Matthews – Camrose Kodiaks
  • F      Joey Melo – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • F      Gavin Garland – Calgary Canucks
  • F      Jack McAra – Bonnyville Pontiacs

 Viterra AJHL All-Rookie 2nd Team

  • G             Sean Cootes – Drumheller Dragons
  • D             Nolan Paquette – Calgary Canucks
  • D             Matthew Ronn – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • F              Colin Doherty – Grande Prairie Storm
  • F              Mitchell Patrick – Olds Grizzlys
  • F              Simon Gaul – Fort McMurray Oil Barons

2023-24 AJHL Rookie of the Year, Joey Melo, is a selection to the Viterra AJHL All-Rookie 1st Team alongside the three award finalists (Garland, Siciliano, Solomon).  The Wolverine forward led all AJHL rookies with 22 goals in the regular season and was second among first year players with 43 points.

Four players on the 2023-24 Viterra AJHL All-Rookie rosters have already committed to the NCAA:

  • Gavin Garland – University of Nebraska Omaha
  • Nolan Paquette – Western Michigan University
  • Carter Matthews – RPI
  • Dante Siciliano – University of Maine

The Viterra AJHL All-Rookie 1st Team includes two players from the Bonnyville Pontiacs and one selection from the Camrose Kodiaks, Whitecourt Wolverines, Calgary Canucks and Lloydminster Bobcats.  The Viterra AJHL All-Rookie 2nd Team is comprised of players from six different AJHL teams, including the Whitecourt Wolverines, Calgary Canucks, Drumheller Dragons, Grande Prairie Storm, Olds Grizzlys and Fort McMurray Oil Barons.