The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, is proud to announce the League Award Finalists for the 2023-24 season.

The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League have selected four finalists in each award category through two phases of voting.  The award winners will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced following the completion of the AJHL regular season.

The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.

2023-2024 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists 

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy 

  • Luka Sukovic – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Vann Yuhas – Drumheller Dragons
  • Caden Cabana – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Ben Charette – Whitecourt Wolverines 

Top Forward Award

  • Luka Sukovic – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Bowden Singleton – Calgary Canucks
  • Vann Yuhas – Drumheller Dragons
  • Caden Cabana – Lloydminster Bobcats 

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy

  • Dante Siciliano – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Gavin Garland – Calgary Canucks
  • Jack Solomon – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Joey Melo – Whitecourt Wolverines 

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by Alberta Ford Dealers

  • JR Ashmead – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Easton Hewson – Calgary Canucks
  • Brody Mortensen – Canmore Eagles
  • Ryan Henderson – Drumheller Dragons 

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

  • Bodee Weiss – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Julian Molinaro – Calgary Canucks
  • Jack Solomon – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Ben Charette – Whitecourt Wolverines

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

  • Nicolas Beaudoin – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Blake Setter – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Cade Moxham – Olds Grizzlys
  • Dylan Leslie – Whitecourt Wolverines

Coach of the Year

  • Brad Moran – Calgary Canucks
  • Kevin Hasselberg – Drumheller Dragons
  • Brad Rihela – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Shawn Martin – Whitecourt Wolverines

The winners of the following League Awards and Scholarships will also be announced at the completion of the regular season and throughout the 2024 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs. 

  • Viterra All-League and All-Rookie Team
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team
  • Regular Season ChampionDave Duchak Trophy
  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Goal Scorer
  • Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
  • AJHL Executive of the Year – Ken Bracko Award
  • Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
  • RBC Community Ambassador Scholarship