AJHL Announces All-League and All-Rookie Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the Reebok AJHL All-League teams and CCM AJHL All-Rookie teams for the 2012-2013 season.  The selections for each team were determined through a voting system by the League General Managers and Coaches.

Reebok South Division All-League Team

G Jared D'Amico Okotoks Oilers
D Jonathan Lashyn Camrose Kodiaks
D Brennan Baxandall Drumheller Dragons
F Cam Maclise* Brooks Bandits
F Chris Collins Okotoks Oilers
F Mathew Marcinew Olds Grizzlys

Reebok North Division All-League Team

G Marc -Olivier Daigle Drayton Valley Thunder
D Josh Healey Sherwood Park Crusaders
D Grant Baker Lloydminster Bobcats
F Jerome Raymond Whitecourt Wolverines
F Mathieu Guertin Whitecourt Wolverines
F Dylan Richard Spruce Grove Saints
* Unanimous Selection

The South Division All-League team includes four AJHL Award Finalists (D’Amico, Lashyn, Baxandall, Maclise).  The North Division All-League teams also boasts four League Award Finalists (Daigle, Healy, Raymond, Richard).

Whitecourt Wolverines forwards Jerome Raymond and Mathieu Guertin lead the AJHL in scoring and represent the league’s newest franchise on the North Division All-League team.  The Okotoks Oilers also have dual representation on the South Division All-League team.  Cam Maclise is the sole unanimous selection to the All-League teams.

Three members of the All-League teams have committed to further their academic and athletic pursuit following the AJHL.  Josh Healey and Dylan Richard of the North Division All-League team and Jonathan Lashyn of the South Division All-League team have already committed to a post-secondary career.

Josh Healy and Dylan Richard represented the AJHL at the 2012 World Junior A Challenge and won a silver medal as members of Team West.  Matthew Marcinew of the 2013 South Division All-League team was also selected to the 2012 North Division All-Rookie team.

CCM North Division All-Rookie Team

G Marc -Olivier Daigle Drayton Valley Thunder
D Carson Soucy Spruce Grove Saints
D Matt Purmal Fort McMurray Oil Barons
F Luc Lalor Fort McMurray Oil Barons
F Sean MacTavish Sherwood Park Crusaders
F Trevor Poirier Drayton Valley Thunder

CCM South Division All-Rookie Team

G Colin Cooper Calgary Canucks
D Brandon Tkachuk Brooks Bandits
D Luc Lemire Camrose Kodiaks
F Tanner MacMaster* Camrose Kodiaks
F Brett Njaa Camrose Kodiaks
F John Edwardh Okotoks Oilers
* Unanimous Selection

The South Division All-Rookie team includes three selections from the Camrose Kodiaks.  The North Division team has two selections from both the Thunder and Oil Barons.   Goaltender Marc -Olivier Daigle has been voted to both the North Division All-League team and All-Rookie team.

Tanner MacMaster was a unanimous selection to the South Division All-Rookie team.  MacMaster also represented the AJHL as a member of Team Pacific at the 2013 World Junior Under 17 Hockey Challenge. 

Defenceman Carson Soucy has committed to a post-secondary career following his time in the AJHL.  Soucy, Daigle and MacTavish participated in the 2012 CJHL Prospects Game in November 2012.

Three rookies on the North Division team are finalists for the 2013 League Awards (Daigle, Soucy, Lalor), and two members of the South Division All-Rookie team are also award finalists (Cooper, MacMaster).