AJHL Announces All-League and All-Rookie Teams

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the 2013-2014 Reebok AJHL All-League teams and CCM AJHL All-Rookie teams.  The selections for each team were determined through a voting system by the League General Managers and Coaches.

The Canmore Eagles of the South Division are represented by two selections on the South Division All-League team, including AJHL MVP Trey Phillips.  Spencer Dorowicz (Olds Grizzlys) was the co-winner of the AJHL Top Scorer Award and is a unanimous selection to the South Division team. 

The Fort McMurray Oil Barons and the Spruce Grove Saints both received dual representation on the North Division All-League team.  The North Division roster also includes AJHL Top Goaltender Tanner Jaillet (Fort McMurray Oil Barons).  Nicholas Jones (Sherwood Park Crusaders) was identified in the NHL Central Scouring Midterm Rankings for the 2014 NHL Entry Draft and is a unanimous selection of the North Division’s General Managers and Coaches.

Reebok South Division All-League Team

  • G Ryan Ferguson,  Canmore Eagles
  • D Trey Phillips,  Canmore Eagles
  • D Tariq Hammond, Okotoks Oilers
  • F Spencer Dorowicz* Olds Grizzlys
  • F Anthony Petruzzelli, Brooks Bandits
  • F Colton Vannucci, Drumheller Dragons


Reebok North Division All-League Team

  • G Tanner Jaillet, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • D Grant Baker, Lloydminster Bobcats
  • D Corey Chorneyko, Spruce Grove Saints
  • F Nicholas Jones* Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • F Cameron Hughes, Spruce Grove Saints
  • F Ryan Bloom, Fort McMurray Oil Barons


The North Division All-Rookie team contains two players from the Fort McMurray Oil Barons.  Mitch Vanderlaan (Fort McMurray Oil Barons) and Tyler Busch (Spruce Grove Saints) were finalists for the AJHL Rookie of the Year Award and both earned spots on the North Division All-Rookie team.  Busch was identified on the NHL Central Scouting Mid Term Rankings and competed in the 2013 Canadian Junior Hockey League Prospects Game.

Goaltender Ryan Ferguson (Canmore Eagles) was voted to the South Division All-League team and the South Division All-Rookie team.     The Brooks Bandits and Olds Grizzlys each have two players named to the top rookie squad, including AJHL Rookie of the Year Chris Gerrie (Olds Grizzlys).  Ferguson and Gerrie were unanimous choices for the 2013-2014 All-Rookie team.    Nikolas Koberstein (Olds Grizzlys) represented the AJHL at the 2013 Canadian Junior Hockey League Prospects Game alongside the Top 40 NHL Entry Draft Prospects from the CJHL.

CCM North Division All-Rookie Team

  • G Tommy Nixon, Sherwood Park Crusaders
  • D Brett McNeil, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • D Ryan Black, Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • F Mitch Vanderlaan, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • F Tyler Busch, Spruce Grove Saints
  • F Brett Smythe, Drayton Valley Thunder


CCM South Division All-Rookie Team

  • G Ryan Ferguson*  Canmore Eagles
  • D Nikolas Koberstein, Olds Grizzlys
  • D Shane Bear, Brooks Bandits
  • F Chris Gerrie* Olds Grizzlys
  • F Kyler Nachtigall, Brooks Bandits
  • F Rhett Gardner, Okotoks Oilers

* Unanimous Selection