Alberta Junior Hockey League Announces 2021-22 Award Finalists

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced the League Award Finalists for the 2021-22 season.  

The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League have selected a pair of finalists from each division through two phases of voting.   The award winners will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced at the completion of the AJHL regular season.

The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.   For the first time, the AJHL will also present a Top Forward Award.

2021-2022 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

  • Kash Rasmussen – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Kolby Thornton – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Ryan McAllister – Brooks Bandits
  • Rieger Lorenz – Okotoks Oilers

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy

  • Jayden Davis – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Ethan Aucoin – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Zach Bookman – Brooks Bandits
  • Rieger Lorenz – Okotoks Oilers

Top Forward Award

  • Caiden Gault – Spruce Grove Saints
  • Tyler Wallace – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • TJ Hughes – Brooks Bandits
  • Rieger Lorenz – Okotoks Oilers

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by Alberta Ford Dealers

  • A.J. Macaulay – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Brett Bamber – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • Zach Bookman – Brooks Bandits
  • Robert Kincaid – Camrose Kodiaks

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

  • Jackson Berry – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • Kolby Thornton – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Andreai Proctor-Ramirez – Canmore Eagles
  • Jack McNaughton – Okotoks Oilers

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

  • Austin Saint – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Nathanial Bierd – Grande Prairie Storm
  • Myles Hilman – Drumheller Dragons
  • Connor Bertamini – Calgary Canucks

Coach of the Year

  • Eric Thurston – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • Nigel Dube – Lloydminster Bobcats
  • Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
  • Kevin Hasselberg – Drumheller Dragons

The Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team will be announced on Thursday, February 24th, 2022.   The following League Awards and Scholarships will also be announced at the completion of the regular season and throughout the 2022 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs.

  • Viterra All-League and All-Rookie Team
  • Regular Season ChampionDave Duchak Trophy
  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Goal Scorer
  • Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
  • Stewy Stewart Memorial Award Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
  • AJHL Executive of the Year – Ken  Bracko  Award  
  • Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award – North & South Division Recipients
  • Merit Contractors AJHL Scholarship – North & South Division Recipients
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship