Anthony Paskaruk Commits to Northern Michigan University

Brooks, Alberta – The Brooks Bandits are proud to announce that 1994 born Forward Anthony Paskaruk has committed to play for Northern Michigan University.  Located in Marquette, MI the “Wildcats” play in the WCHA under long time Head Coach Walt Kyle.  The Wildcats are off to a fantastic start to the season with a current record of 6-1-1.

Anthony is from Airdrie, AB where he grew up playing minor hockey before making the jump to the Bandits at the age of 16.  He is now in his final season of junior hockey and has spent each of the last five years playing for the Bandits.  Paskaruk has become one of the most accomplished Bandits of all time winning the AJHL Championship twice along with the RBC Cup in 2013.  At the RBC he was named leading scorer of the tournament with 3 goals and 6 assists in 6 tournament games. 

Early the next season he was named Captain of the Bandits and shortly after earned a selection to Team Canada West at the World Junior A Challenge.  In this final season Anthony is an Assistant Captain, which has allowed him more time to focus on his studies in preparation for the NCAA.

Head Coach/GM Ryan Papaioannou, “Anthony has done such great things for our program and we are all proud of this opportunity for him to play in the NCAA.  His leadership skills speak volumes on the ice and he is a tireless worker for our group.  Anthony has played so many roles over the last 5 years that he will be ready for any challenge he is presented with on the ice.  It’s been an incredible journey to see his maturation over the years both on and off the ice.  Anthony will always be regarded very highly by our organization and we are excited for him to begin the next chapter in life.”

The Bandits Organization would like to congratulate Anthony and his family on his athletic and academic future.

Anthony is the 7th Bandit committed to play in the NCAA joining:

  1.     Shane Bear (University of Massachusetts)
  2.     Kyler Nachtigall (University of Massachusetts)
  3.     Corey Caruso (Mercyhurst University)
  4.     Adam Baughman (Harvard University)
  5.     Austin Plevy (University of Massachusetts)
  6.     Mark Logan (Rochester Institute of Technology, RIT)