Bandits name Di Cicco recipient of 2019-20 Nick Crosby Memorial Award

BROOKS, AB (May 14, 2020) – The Brooks Bandits of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) are proud to announce the recipient of the 2019-20 Nick Crosby Memorial Award is defenceman Jordan Di Cicco.

The award is handed out annually in memory of the Bandit forward who passed away in 2011. 
Each year a player is selected who best exemplifies Crosby’s greatest assets; determination, hard work, perseverance and respect and love for the game of hockey. Crosby’s No. 23 has been retired by the Bandits, hanging in the rafters of the Centennial Regional Arena. 
?Jordan is very deserving of the Nick Crosby Memorial Award. For two seasons he exemplified all the qualities that Nick was known best for. Jordan?s perseverance through injuries and adversity are at the top of the list during my 12 years with the Bandits,” said Bandits head coach and general manager, Ryan Papaioannou.
“His personality and positivity was infectious and he was able to be an example to all our players on how to overcome the obstacles you?re presented with. He was an unsung hero of sorts while playing a key role throughout his time in Brooks. His ability off the ice to have academic success while being one of the most dedicated players at the rink is a big reason why he was so well liked by the coming staff and players. We are all excited for the next chapter in his career and this award further shows that character he will bring to a college hockey program next season.”
Di Cicco (London, ON) totalled 30 points (6G, 24A) in 41 games during the 2019-20 campaign. The alternate captain spent two seasons in Brooks, tallying 76 points (12G, 64A) in 99 games, winning an AJHL Championship and National Junior A Championship in 2018-19.
He was also named the Alberta Ford Dealers AJHL Defensive Player of the Week (January 6th to 12th, 2020), and once during his rookie season (November 18th to 24th, 2018).
Previous recipients of the Nick Crosby Memorial Award include:

  • 2018-19 Nick Hale
  • 2017-18 Jake Theis
  • 2016-17 Nic Hamre
  • 2015-16 Nick Prkusic
  • 2014-15 Derek Lodermeier
  • 2013-14 Anthony Paskaruk
  • 2012-13 Anthony Petruzzelli
  • 2011-12 Matt Tyson