Blankenburg Commits To Michigan Wolverines

Okotoks, AB – The Okotoks Oilers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League are proud to announce that 1998 born defenceman Nick Blankenburg (Washington, MI) has committed to the University of Michigan Wolverines.

Located in Ann Arbor, Michigan, The Wolverines play in the NCAA’s Big Ten Conference under First Year Head Coach Mel Pearson.  The storied school’s hockey program has won ten conference championships, have participated in 36 NCAA Tournaments, 24 of them appearances in the Frozen Four, and a record nine NCAA Championships.

Blankenburg, 19, in his rookie season with the Oilers has accumulated 24 points (8 goals, 16 assists) in 33 games played and is the first Okotoks Oilers in franchise history to commit to the Wolverines.

Oilers Head Coach & Director of Hockey Development Tyler Deis says his progression since being identified at the team’s top prospect camp in the Summer of 2017 speaks volumes to his commitment with the Wolverines.  

“Nick has shown in only a handful of games in the AJHL that he’s among one of the leagues best defencemen, from defending to creating quality scoring chances, Nick has made our hockey club dangerous every time he’s on the ice. Being from Michigan we couldn’t be happier he’s going to be playing college hockey close to home.”

Blankenburg was recruited to the team after a season with Victory Honda of the T1EHL U18 League where he had 28 points (10 goals, 18 assists) in 32 games played. Helping lead Victory Honda to a T1EHL Championship. Prior to his time with Victory Honda, Blankenburg suited up for Romeo High School in the United States High School League (USHS) where in three seasons scoring 161 points (86 goals, 75 assists) with the Bulldogs.

The Oilers would like to congratulate Nick and his family on his achievement along with his involvement with the team both on and off the ice and his dedication to the organization and in the community.

Nick is the 4th current Oiler on the 2017-18 roster to commit to a NCAA Division I institution, as he joins Jacob Bernard-Docker (University of North Dakota), Dylan Holloway (University of Wisconsin, and Austin Wong (Harvard University).