Dyck Commits to Penn State Nittany Lions

Okotoks, AB – The Okotoks Oilers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League are proud to announce that 2001 forward Carson Dyck (Lethbridge, AB) has committed to Penn State University.

Located in University Park, Pennsylvania, the Nittany Lions play in the NCAA’s Big 10 Conference under 7-year Head Coach Guy Gadowsky. The Nittany Lions since joining Division I College Hockey in 2012-13 has won one Conference title along with two appearances in the NCAA Tournament.

Dyck, 17, in his rookie season with the Oilers has 6 points (1 goal, 5 assists) in 15 regular season games and was an Oiler affiliate in the 2017-18 AJHL season where he suited up in three games.

Oilers Head Coach / General Manager Tyler Deis says Dyck’s commitment in just a handful of Junior Hockey games shows how dedicated he is to his development on and off the ice.

“We identified Carson as a future contributor to our hockey club last year during the pre-season,” he says. “Since we’ve watched him, Carson has proves every day that he’s willing to do what it takes to become not just a successful hockey player but also a great human being. We’re proud of Carson for his commitment and can’t wait to see him take the next steps in his development to be NCAA ready.”

Dyck played his minor hockey in Lethbridge where he was a part of the Lethbridge Hurricanes of the Alberta Midget Hockey League last season and helped guide his team to an AMHL Championship along with a Pacific Regional title and an appearance at last year’s Telus Cup.

In 32 Midget AAA games with Lethbridge, Carson scored 34 points (7 goals, 27 assists) in 32 games and followed that up in the playoffs where he scored 8 points (8 assists) in 12 games. Along with five points (2 goals, 3 assists) in the Telus Cup.

The Oilers would like to congratulate Carson and his family on his achievement along with his dedication to the Oilers organization both on and off the ice and in the community.

Carson is 5th Oiler on the current 2018-19 roster to commit to a NCAA Division I Institution as he joins: Dylan Holloway (University of Wisconsin), Quinn Olson (Minnesota Duluth), Blake Wells (U-Mass Lowell), and Austin Wong (Harvard University).